Solianka or Russian Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This recipe was very authentic and very close to what we were used to eating when we lived in Russia. My kids who were born in Russia and grew up eating Russian foods love this, but it might not go over so well with American kids. We love this, and I make it with all kinds of cooked meat in the traditional Russian fashion, in Russia Solianka is the "clean out your fridge" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This soup was really good! I served it at a dinner party with a Russian theme and it was a big hit. It makes a very hearty main course. The only recommendation I have is to rehydrate the mushrooms and let the sand settle. Also, you may want to double the recipe and freeze some for future meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I didn't even read the directions, I just checked out the ingredients. They are too many!=)) But, I don't think they'd bother. Why you called Solianka "Beef Soup"?=) It's not! I would call it "Smoked Meat Sour Soup"! That would be the rightest name!=)) Anyway, sounds good! This is one of my favorite soups in my country (Russia). The original way is: stock based on a pickles brine, there are ham, sausages, bacon, kelbasa, some beef, lemons, olives (black and green), tomato pure, onions, celery.....what else?.........parsley, cilantro......oooohhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! pickles, diced..capers??? you can add but the original recipe comes with pickles, so...thanks! I rated this recipe with "five stars"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I signed up just so I could review this recipe. I made the soup yesterday and my husband said it's the best I've ever made! I used half the amount of butter and tomatoes (personal preference). I will be making this soup quite often, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
This recipe is an excellent one. Sour, salty, and savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was a little aprehensive about the ingredients, but as it cooked it smelled amazing. I did have to substitute alternate items for the veal (thin sliced beef) and marinated mushrooms (regular raw mushrooms) and used dried dill weed instead of fresh because I couldn't find it. This was for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I got multiple comments on how tasty it was. I served it with Russian black bread and a basic side salad and it was perfect. Everyone should try this. It does indicate that it feeds 6, but I could easily have fed 12 people with the soup, salad and bread. Everyone should try this because the flavor is not what you would expect given the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I was intrigued by this list of ingredients, and made the recipe exactly as written. It was sublime! I dream about this soup! Thanks, Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
i love this receipe,its my husbands favorite. im originally from Russia and finding this realy inspired me to cook more russian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
excellent recipe, tasted just like when i was in Ukraine, very close
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was SO good! I loved everything about it! All I changed was replacing the veal with chicken, because I dont eat veal. Next time I will add the pickles a little sooned (maybe at the same time as the marinated mushrooms) because they were a little crunchy for me and I like them very soft. Overall So Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States