Solianka or Russian Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Not tasty enough for me for all the unhealthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
In my opinion, it actually tastes better than some solianka that I've had in Ukraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This soup was really tasty. The dish is a winter soup with all of the pickled and marinated ingredients ... as throughout the year veggies and such are pickled and marinated to eat during the winter when fresh food sources dwindle. The flavor was really nice and balanced, and the soup itself was filling. I used fresh made kolbasa, which is a Russian version of kielbasa, and served with homemade black bread. My husband's only comment was that he didn't like having a bunch of olives in the bottom of his bowl when he was near the end of the meal. Next time I will chop the olives up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Most enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kangaroo495

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this for a potluck with my Russian class. I have to admit that some of the ingredients seemed strange, but the soup is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Such an odd list of ingredients but don't let it scare you, it is very good! I did not have any marinated mushrooms in a jar so I made my own ahead of time using the Marinated Mushroom recipe by Silvia Raynor on this site. I made this for my Christmas Eve soup party where I make 3 different kinds of soup and this one was the favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This soup is great! I was born in Latvia ( where they serve Solianka) so i know what to expect and was kind of worried this soup wouldnt meet my expectations. But it was really good. My Hubby loved it too. Thank You for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arta
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The only recommendation: Service with sour cream. This was spectacular! The ingredients are such that you would never think to mix them together; however, they meld beautifully. I had to make some substitutions b/c of market availability: I couldn't find marinated mushrooms so I cubed up some Portabellas, no veal so I cubed up an eye of the round roast & simmered until smooth, and I don't like kalamata olives so I used black. My Russian friend said it was pretty authentic and was a bit surprised I knew about the soup. Thanks Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Dont let the list scare you away!! This is absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States