Sole with Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We made 1 change to this great recipe - from whole milk to almond milk, which is the only kind we use. My wife was doubtful at first but quickly changed her mind on first bite. "It tastes like a dinner we would have in the islands." You know what, she was right. Well, maybe Key West too. Golly, it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Ver simple and delisious, I think I could have used a little more flour though, I found the sauce a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was tasty but the banana was a bit too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I thought it was so weird I just had to try it, and actually it was pretty darn good. Although I'm not a huge fan of the directions, why don't you just describe how you're supposed to make a rue instead of saying mix flour butter and milk?? Anyway not bad at all once you figure out how you're really supposed to make it. I would make it again but perhaps with a little less wine and maybe more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for my hubby and followed this recipe exactly. It reminded me of Tio Pepe's, and it was excellent. Next time I make it though I would definitely cut the lime juice & white wine in half. I am going to give it stars, because both my hubby and I loved it. I have yet to find another recipe like this that taste so good. I will be making this recipe again as it is very easy, and I have most things in my kitchen. Thank you Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We tried it. my husband & I love bananas, however you must like "cooked" banana to like this one. We ate it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Would never have come up with this combination on my own, but it really works! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEEDSTER356
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a great idea. I tried it last night. It turned out good but I think I had too much flour in the sauce as it was a little "pastey" if you will. I posted a pic of my finished fish. Next time I think I will add a bit more Banana too. Very good combination with the cheese (I used Parmesan & Romano) Without my sauce mistake and very little tweaking, I think this is an awesome idea and is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEEDSTER356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was easy and good. We used mahi mahi fish. I think it might be better if the fish marinated longer in the wine and lime juice and I would have enjoyed more of the cream sauce, but still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My husband and I love anything with bananas and believe that any meal should be accompanied with one. So this recipe caught my eye. However, I was disappointed. It did not have much flavor and was not what we expected at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amymarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States