Sole with Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
i have to say, my DH and i were pleasantly surprised with this. i had some cod out for dinner, and 2 sorry looking bananas...i had everything else on hand. since people complained about the excessive wine flavor, i merely drizzled on the wine and lime. the only problem i had was the bananas sliding off the fish before cooking. so, i had to improvise and stick a couple of tooth picks to keep them steady. very good. thanks for the most unusual way to eat whitefish KAREN SHAVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. I found it unappealing and unpalatable; the flavors are just not complementary to one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We made 1 change to this great recipe - from whole milk to almond milk, which is the only kind we use. My wife was doubtful at first but quickly changed her mind on first bite. "It tastes like a dinner we would have in the islands." You know what, she was right. Well, maybe Key West too. Golly, it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Ver simple and delisious, I think I could have used a little more flour though, I found the sauce a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Mark Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was tasty but the banana was a bit too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I thought it was so weird I just had to try it, and actually it was pretty darn good. Although I'm not a huge fan of the directions, why don't you just describe how you're supposed to make a rue instead of saying mix flour butter and milk?? Anyway not bad at all once you figure out how you're really supposed to make it. I would make it again but perhaps with a little less wine and maybe more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for my hubby and followed this recipe exactly. It reminded me of Tio Pepe's, and it was excellent. Next time I make it though I would definitely cut the lime juice & white wine in half. I am going to give it stars, because both my hubby and I loved it. I have yet to find another recipe like this that taste so good. I will be making this recipe again as it is very easy, and I have most things in my kitchen. Thank you Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We tried it. my husband & I love bananas, however you must like "cooked" banana to like this one. We ate it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Would never have come up with this combination on my own, but it really works! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEEDSTER356
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a great idea. I tried it last night. It turned out good but I think I had too much flour in the sauce as it was a little "pastey" if you will. I posted a pic of my finished fish. Next time I think I will add a bit more Banana too. Very good combination with the cheese (I used Parmesan & Romano) Without my sauce mistake and very little tweaking, I think this is an awesome idea and is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEEDSTER356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States