Sole with Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was better than expected. My husband said it was like something you order at a restaurant and wants me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Me and my husband loved this recipe! I followed the reviews and omitted the wine. We didn't miss it at all! Next time I'll make a little more of the cream. And I use halibut instead of sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Everyone was apprehensive about bananas and fish, must admit so was I, but gave it a shot and wow......a very pleasant surprise!! Not a flavor that you can guess about, but love it once you do taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe. Left out wine, doubled lime juice. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This dish is a nice treat and falls under the category: comfort food. It is very satisfying and unique. We would both agree that this will be cooked again and again. We followed the recipe without the white wine as the bottle was polished off the night before. Give it a shot and if you don't like it, there's always delivery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pengyou and Xie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Was very yummy. My 4 kids and husband loved it (except the kid that doesn't like fish). I omitted the wine and it turned out perfect. Make sure you do not layer the fish in the baking dish. It is very delicate and the fillets stick together making it hard to server the fillets singly. I made it twice already. This is definitely going into the rotation of weekly dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
eh...it was ok and interesting to try but i would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My husband and I use 1% milk so the sauce didn't thicken easily...I had to use an extra tablespoon of flour.... this recipe originally sounded like it might be good and I like trying new flavors together, but my husband thinks it tastes like Farina, and I wasn't a huge fan, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FabulousFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This has the basis of being incredible! I did it according to the recipe but put the wine in the sauce and didn't uses as much.It was great. Next time I will use Petrale sole instead of Dover, it has less water content. I will also make the sauce a little thinner, mine was super thick. I loved the bananas! I want a banana in each bite so I will add more. All in all, very tasty! We loved it!I'll do it again with the changes and may change the rating to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
banana and sole did not go good together. the instructions for making the sauce should be adjusted a little if you actually want the sauce to thicken, first you need to make a roux. the butter and flour should be cooked together, stirring constantly until it is a light golden brown color. Then slowly add the milk and keep stirring. I would really like this recipe if the bananas were omitted. creative though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States