Sole In Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This sauce is wonderful! I did make a few changes - less butter, some olive oil, and I added some fresh dill. However, instead of frying the fish and using the sauce on top, I placed the raw fish fillets in the sauce in a baking dish, and baked it for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees. It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
The sauce for this dish is excellent. I did not use breadcrumbs for the fish. I assumed that breadcrumbs would become soggy with the sauce, so I pan fried the fish until crispy. You could probably grill or broil the fish also. I cut the butter in half (1/2 cup), tripled the garlic, cut the broth in half, kept the wine, lemon, and everything else the same. Corn starch thickened it up nicely and lots of capers made this dish wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The basic flavors in this recipe are really good, but the proportions seem to be a little off. I did not bread the sole before frying it because I thought the addition of the sauce would make it soggy. The sauce itself is good, but I took others' suggestions and halved the butter (I actually quartered it, using 1/4 cup butter and then used 1/4 olive oil), and used 1/2 cup white wine as well. I also doubled the amount of lemon, added a 1/4 cup of parsley, then added some drained capers before thickening the sauce with some cornstarch. After all the modifications, the result was VERY yummy (and I'll make it again), but since so many modifications were needed, I'm only giving it 3 stars. I agree with other reviewers that after modifications, it would be really good on other fish and seafood (I'm thinking shrimp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was yummy! I lightly breaded the sole filets and pan fried them rather than deep frying (I never deep fry!). I used 1/2 cup of butter, omitted the broth, and used the other ingredients as written. After boiling it for several minutes the sauce had thickened enough for my tastes. I like thin, lemony butter sauces, rather than something heavy and thick so this recipe (with a few tweaks) suited me well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Pas, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Nice presentation! I have to reduce the amount of sauce (way too much) and thicken it with corn starch or flour. I also add more garlic, and reduce the amount of butter used. I like to flavour the bread crumbs with grated parmesan and paprika. Tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was pretty good. The sauce should certainly be halved, and the butter further halved. The fish can also be pan fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
The sauce in this recipe was great, I did do as mentioned and added extra garlic (2 extra cloves) and 2T corn starch. Also I baked the sole rather than frying with no breading either. Next time will use a hardier fish. I used the left over sauce (we had a lot) to make a whole other dish. We took a pkg of linguini and a pkg of 90 count shrimp, and tossed the shrimp and pasta with the sauce, and topped with diced sun dried tomatoes. That was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This was a super suace and like others have said is great with differant kinds of fish - I used it on halibut tonight - I also halved the butter, increased the wine and garlic and added 1T cornstarch mixed in w/ c. broth at the end to thicken it up to a hollandise-like consistency. I would reccomend tho, cut the entire sauce recipe in half - its way too much for 4 fillets of fish. But again super super yummy recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAFNV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This sauce is AMAZING!! It tastes like something you'd get in an expensive restaurant! We make it with all kinds of fish and pour it over the fish, rice and veggies. I only wish I could give it six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Very good and aromatic! My kids couldn't get enough of it. Will definitely make it again. Although I would add 1-1/2 T. cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States