Sole In Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
dellectable mm mm mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was yummy! I lightly breaded the sole filets and pan fried them rather than deep frying (I never deep fry!). I used 1/2 cup of butter, omitted the broth, and used the other ingredients as written. After boiling it for several minutes the sauce had thickened enough for my tastes. I like thin, lemony butter sauces, rather than something heavy and thick so this recipe (with a few tweaks) suited me well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Pas, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Recipe was very good. We added scallions, mushrooms, and garlic, and also cut down on the butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The basic flavors in this recipe are really good, but the proportions seem to be a little off. I did not bread the sole before frying it because I thought the addition of the sauce would make it soggy. The sauce itself is good, but I took others' suggestions and halved the butter (I actually quartered it, using 1/4 cup butter and then used 1/4 olive oil), and used 1/2 cup white wine as well. I also doubled the amount of lemon, added a 1/4 cup of parsley, then added some drained capers before thickening the sauce with some cornstarch. After all the modifications, the result was VERY yummy (and I'll make it again), but since so many modifications were needed, I'm only giving it 3 stars. I agree with other reviewers that after modifications, it would be really good on other fish and seafood (I'm thinking shrimp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
OK, right up front I have to confess that I only used the butter sauce from this recipe, and I combined it with another seafood dish. So my rating is for the sauce only. This butter sauce is BEAUTIFUL! It is just garlicky enough, and the lemon and chicken broth proportions are perfect, IMHO. I did make one change: I used half butter, half olive oil, to reduce the sat. fat. It was incredible. This would be the perfect base for shrimp or scallop scampi. In fact, I'm going to try that! HIGHLY recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was not bad, just ok for me. This was my first time buying and cooking this fish and I was looking for a recipe to use for it. I like the fish but will try different way of cooking it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
It was delicious! I halved the butter sauce and added flour to thicken it....and extra white wine! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent. My husband absolutely loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was pretty good. The sauce should certainly be halved, and the butter further halved. The fish can also be pan fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Nice presentation! I have to reduce the amount of sauce (way too much) and thicken it with corn starch or flour. I also add more garlic, and reduce the amount of butter used. I like to flavour the bread crumbs with grated parmesan and paprika. Tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States