Soldiers Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Thank you P.D Miles, I can not believe I have finally found my Grandmother's meringue recipe. I have been adding walnuts to the plain white sugar recipe for years, just not as good. I never knew she used brown sugar. She called them kisses, love that they are soldiers kisses. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Too, too, too easy! I was concerned there were too few egg whites for all that sugar and nuts, but I was wrong. They turned out perfect. Second batch, I substituted chocolate for nuts. I crushed some dark chocolate bark to small crumbs and used just 1.5 cups. I also stirred 1T cocoa powder into 1C white sugar instead of using brown sugar. This turned out great, but was a little intense. I may use milk chocolate next time. Parchment paper makes this such a breeze. When the pan comes out of the oven you can slide the paper onto cooling racks. Within a minute you can pull the cookies off the paper, and into storage (if they last that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very interesting consistency. I love the flavor. Mine did stick a little, so be extra careful picking them or. Very fragile. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelleypears
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I added a few things... I have been defeated by meringue before, but this time I won the jackpot! I added in 1/8 tsp each of salt and cream of tartar to the eggs before beating. And a tsp of vanilla extract with the nuts. I substituted the nuts for 1/2 cup choc chips and 1 1/2 cups pecans because that's what I had on hand and what sounded good:) I used the whisk attachment on my hand-mixer and I think that works better than beaters. I used a glass bowl because I didn't have metal and let it chill in the freezer for about 10min( a tip I got from tv) and let my eggs warm up on the counter for about 40min. My cookies were done in 40mins perfectly! Thank you, will make again and again! Try it these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were delicious...and so easy to make if you have a good mixer to beat the egg whites. I only used 1 cup chopped nuts and needed two cookie sheets to cook them all at the same time. Some were chewy than others, but they all came out perfect. Left them in the oven for about 10 minute after cooking with the oven off (electric oven). Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Yum! So good. I made a half batch and beat my egg white for 3 minutes. Although I searched for a walnut cookie and came across this recipe, I realized I'd end up using all of my walnuts, so I used my slap/chop tool on some almonds and used those. They came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made these for my coworkers, I iced some and left some as orginal cookie THESE ARE AWESOME and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnshylo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ricci.immaculata
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
It took a loooong time to make meringue cookies, but it's all worth the wait. These cookies are delicious! Just one note, after 40-45 minutes baking, turn the heat off and let the cookies inside the oven for another 30-60 minutes. Let it dry out. You can even leave it in the oven overnight and take it out ar serve it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricci.immaculata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Slightly crunchy, lightly sweet-these are great cookies. I used pecans instead of walnuts, adding just a tiny drop of maple extract to compliment the brown sugar. I had planned to use a cookie press, but the ground nuts didn't fit through the tip, so I used a rounded teaspoon as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
OMG! These cookies were to DIE for! Maybe it's the fact that I'm 4 1/2 months pregnant with twins, who knows, but my son LOVES them too! We only made them a couple hours ago and well... they're just about gone! Delicious recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States