Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These reviews are seriously entertaining. I just saw the main rating and made the cookies before reading all of the reviews. Had I read these first, I probably would not have made these. I actually followed the recipe to the T on the first pan...and they came out actually looking perfect, but tasting really bland...and they weren't at all chewy. I added 1/4 flour and 1/2 more peanut butter to what was left for the rest of the cookies and only cooked them for 15 mintues. AFter that, they were PERFECT!!!!! And NOW...after all of the changes, they can officially be called SOFT AND CHEWY PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZESTYGIRL30
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
If I had more thumbs they would all be way, way up for this one. I was skeptical after reading other reviews, but decided to go with the recipe as is. The only thing I did different was added a small bag of semi-sweet chocolate chunks and a small bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. They are, as someone else described, an unusual consistancy before dropping onto pan. Very gooey and it did take the full 22 minutes...no matter how Narly they look at first. keep the balls/drops no bigger than a tablespoon as they do spread out like flat gobs of goo. In the last 7 minutes they miraculously take cookie form, it's amazing because they really do stay gooey looking for a while. I think if you turn the tempature up higher the dough edges will burn, so don't be tempted. a bit sweet, but what a perfect cookie. exactly what I was looking for and my male co-workers said they were orgasmic. The finished cookie looks just like a cookie you'ld buy at Mrs. Smiths in the mall. I won't be using any other peanut butter cookie recipe again. Thanks. P.S. If the peanut butter flavor isn't strong enough for you, it is mild, don't touch the recipe, I'd recommend just adding nuts or peanut butter chips. They stay soft & chewy longer than any cookies I've ever made. I made these twice now, and refridgerated the dough before baking the second time, much easier to ball, came out exactly the same. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
The first time i made these cookies they came out very flat, not too pretty but still had a good taste. I decided to make them again but this time added 1/4 c. more flour, a bit more peanut butter, chilled the dough, rolled them into tiny balls and did not press them with a fork....wow...after doing that they came out awesome! Few changes needed to satisfy my personal taste but it worked out because everyone loves them! Overall great recipe, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! I've been looking for a cookie like this for years!! If you follow the directions and ingredients as written by Sarah, you will have THE BEST PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES. Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This is an excellent peanut butter cookie. I have tried several recipes looking for something that would produce a softer cookie. This is definitely a keeper! Make sure to follow the recipe exact and you will get flawless results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is the best recipe yet! I followed recipe expcept I refrigerated the dough for about 30 minutes. I used my Pampered Chef cookie scoop to create perfect sized balls. I rolled each ball in sugar. I baked them for about 19 minutes and pressed candied cherries in some, (husbands request) and hershey kisses in the rest. DELICIOUS! Moist and picture perfect! I disagree with others. I thought they had the perfect amount of pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This recipe is bad. The dough was not dough... more like pancake mix, and the cookies turned out just so. They stuck to the pan. I added 1 cup more flour and that did nothing. Wish I would have never tried these ones : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
The ingredients are way off on this recipe--3 eggs is too many for amount of flour, and the 1 1/4 each of white and brown sugar is really too much. Not a good recipe at all in my opinion. Not worth taking time to change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
not tasty, too runny cant make into balls without adding extra flour. then you also need to add extra peanut butter for flavor, gets hard if cooked for 14 minutes. just not worth the hassle.. find another recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These cookies come out just fine, I didn't have to add anything, they are soft and chewy, though I agree that once you mark them with the fork, even if every so lightly, they become VERY flat. Otherwise, very tasty cookie, although I don't understand the serving size... it says 18 servings, is that 18 cookies? I got 6 dozen! Also, my cooking time averaged about 13 minutes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States