Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is an EXCELLENT recipe!! When you add the flour, add it in sections. Add some, then beat, add more then beat until it is all gone. Also each oven is different so I cooked my cookies at 14 minutes and they came out perfectly! They were not flat. I used butter Pam on my fork instead of water and barely pushed down. This made 64 wonderful medium sized cookies ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
FINALLY!!! A great soft peanut butter cookie that doesn't get hard after they cool. My family says they are AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I lowered the sugar to 1 cup each of white and brown sugar the first time I made them. They were good. I didn't think they were peanut-buttery enough though. So I made them again with 1/4 cup more PB and 1/4 almost 1/4 cup less butter. Both times I let the dough chill and had no problems with very flat cookies. But the second time I chilled it longer and they were puffier. Also, the first batch I made I cooked to what I thought was done (20 min?) and DH thought they were over done (he's the one who likes chewy). I've cooked the following batches everywhere between 11-18 min and HE likes them best about 16 min. Barely done, but definitely chewy. He also is hooked on sea-salt topped cookies, due to a place we've stopped before. So rather than rolling in sugar, I grind some sea-salt on top of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I added more peanut butter and alot more flour & then had to put the dough in the frige! This is the worst receipe I have ever seen! I will not be using it again! These are soft & chewy, they are running and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Rock hard within 5 minutes of cooling! Taste good, but ROCK hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenise
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I just finished making these cookies and they are soft and chewy. I followed the recipe exactly as written. After rolling the dough balls, I coated them with sugar and baked them for 20 minutes. This is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are more like Peanut Butter Pancakes. They tasted okay, were very light and fluffy, but flattened out to the point that I basically ended up with a tray of one thin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I've been using this recipe for many years so I'm confident the recipe itself is reliable and very good. For those of you having trouble I can share my own misadventures and perhaps it will help. I tried cheating once and substituted Jif with a store brand peanut butter and I knew by the dough something was wrong because the dough was too wet and oily. The cookies spread too much and came out flat, crunchy, and oily. I went back to the store and made a second batch with Jif and that solved the problem. This dough is best when refrigerated overnight so the flour can thoroughly absorb the moisture. Different brands of butter have different levels of water content so I always use Land O' Lakes brand. Another ingredient that can ruin certain baked goods is the kind of sugar. Beet sugar can ruin a good cookie so use cane sugar. That applies to brown sugar as well. If you want a stronger peanut taste without adding more oil using peanut butter you can use your food processor and pulse a cup of salted, roasted peanuts until you have a bread crumb like consistency, and then gently fold them into your dough as your last step. Remember, butter is butter, and margarine is oil, so use real butter. I hope this helps and happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
wonderful! Keep dough in the fridge so the cookies don't go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States