Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I added more peanut butter and alot more flour & then had to put the dough in the frige! This is the worst receipe I have ever seen! I will not be using it again! These are soft & chewy, they are running and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Rock hard within 5 minutes of cooling! Taste good, but ROCK hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenise
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I just finished making these cookies and they are soft and chewy. I followed the recipe exactly as written. After rolling the dough balls, I coated them with sugar and baked them for 20 minutes. This is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are more like Peanut Butter Pancakes. They tasted okay, were very light and fluffy, but flattened out to the point that I basically ended up with a tray of one thin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I've been using this recipe for many years so I'm confident the recipe itself is reliable and very good. For those of you having trouble I can share my own misadventures and perhaps it will help. I tried cheating once and substituted Jif with a store brand peanut butter and I knew by the dough something was wrong because the dough was too wet and oily. The cookies spread too much and came out flat, crunchy, and oily. I went back to the store and made a second batch with Jif and that solved the problem. This dough is best when refrigerated overnight so the flour can thoroughly absorb the moisture. Different brands of butter have different levels of water content so I always use Land O' Lakes brand. Another ingredient that can ruin certain baked goods is the kind of sugar. Beet sugar can ruin a good cookie so use cane sugar. That applies to brown sugar as well. If you want a stronger peanut taste without adding more oil using peanut butter you can use your food processor and pulse a cup of salted, roasted peanuts until you have a bread crumb like consistency, and then gently fold them into your dough as your last step. Remember, butter is butter, and margarine is oil, so use real butter. I hope this helps and happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
wonderful! Keep dough in the fridge so the cookies don't go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
took a few tries, but i finally got it right...lol!!! It's best to add a lil more flour and a half cup of peanut butter...also let the finished batter sit in the fridge for an hour or more...parchment paper worked great! very soft and chewy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved this recipe! They are the softest and chewiest. Not sure why others are having a problem with it...perhaps the altitude or perhaps it was because I mixed everything with a fork instead of a mixer? Granted, when baking, they will puff up, but right before they are ready to come out they seem to flatten back into a normal cookie shape. Everyone loved them! I'm keeping this one for the books. Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Bad combination. Couldn't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States