Soft Zucchini Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I have made these cookies several times and they are EXCELLENT with chocolate chips. I also substituted half the butter with applesauce once and it seemed to make no difference. Very moist, almost cakelike in texture. Zucchini-haters devoured these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
These cookies have a delicious spicy taste, and smell great while they're baking. Mine spread too much even after adding additional flour and refrigerating the dough, but next time I'll do a better job of squeezing the moisture out of the zucchini. I won't add the milk next time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
The orange zest truly makes this recipe special. The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Cake-like cookies. Followed the recipe to the T, good cookies, next time I think I'll add more zucchini & maybe increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
GREAT cookies. I made them healthier by replacing half the butter with apple sauce, lowering the ammount of brown sugar, and using whole wheat flour. Taste great with chocolate chips/rasins, will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic - cakelike, but that's exactly what I was looking for - I cut the sugar in half and added chocolate chips, they weren't runny at all (I didn't squeeze out the zucchini) & my household is gobbling them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
They remind me of little zucchini breads. I didn't add anything but the cinnoman and zucchini too it and I thought they needed a little more cinnoman. Also, they were better cooked longer then 15 minutes..about 17. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
These were good, a good way to use up extra zucchini. I used half applesauce and half butter. The dough was really thin, I left out the milk and added 1 cup oatmeal and a little more flour. They ended up not spreading as much as I thought. I recommend two teaspoons orange zest, the one teaspoon gets lost in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These were delicious! I enjoyed the addition of the orange zest. It makes these stand out. These cookies ARE cakey. Any type of zucchini cookie will be. If you don't LIKE cakey cookies, move on. These were very moist. Don't remove water from your zucchini when making these, and be careful not to overbake. Both can lead to dryness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This may come as a shock - I didn't have any zucchini! What I did have was some cut off kernels (cream style) of leftover corn-on-the-cob, so I substituted it and the cookies came out great! I don't often recommend substitutions of major ingredients, but it worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States