Soft Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Consistently soft and absolutely WONDERFUL. I have made them a few times and have successfully replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce. So I use 1/4 butter, 1/4 c. applesauce. They are still soft and irresistible. I also made the apple pie spice mix with 1/4 c. cinnamon, 1 Tbsp. allspice, 2 tsp. each nutmeg & ginger, 1/2 tsp. cardamom (optional).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Very good. I didn't have apple pie spice so I just added a dash each of nutmeg, mace, and allspice and a big splash of cinnamon. These were a big hit with my 4 year old. Thank you for a great recipe! Oh, I used real butter instead of shortening (we don't use trans fats).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This is an average sugar cookie recipe spiced up a little bit. I refrigerated the dough and rolled it out for cut out cookies and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
just made these wuth my kids and I have to say we will NEVER go back to white flour sugar cookies. I used to do 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour but this was awsome! I did not uses m&m's and I used butter instead of shortning. they are awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
My kids love these cookies. I really like how they stayed soft. I refrigerated the dough and used a car cookie cutter to make shaped cookies. It's great to find a healthier alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
These are really good cookies! You wouldn't know that they were made with whole wheat flour. My first pan spread a bit too much, so, with the rest, I shook balls of dough in the cinnamon sugar in a zip lock bag & didn't flatten them at all. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I used demerara sugar instead of white and used cinnamon and nutmeg, more cinnamon than nutmeg though, and the cookies turned out great! I think brown sugars should definitely be used over white; they give a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
These are really good - plain, but the spice gives them just the right amount of zip. Received good response both at home and work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Wow! These were amazing & very easy. I'm always looking for healthier cookies for me & my family. Next time I'm going to try using xylitol instead of sugar. I'll make these often!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These were absolutely wonderful. I took the first reviewers advice and added 1/4 applesauce and 1/4 butter instead of the shortening. I think the applesauce made the cookie too flat. It's delicious, for sure, but it's not the soft cookie I wanted. Stick to the butter or shortening. It doesn't make this cookie considerably more healthy just because you cut 1/4 of the butter. You'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States