Soft Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
We listened to "1," by The Beatles while we baked up these a here Whole Wheat treats! We 1/4 butter & 1/4 homemade applesauce instead of 1/2 cup butter flavored shortnin'. We substituted 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp all spice & a dash of ginger for 1 tsp apple spice. We didn't use m&m's. Grazie!! This site has given us a new cooking awakening!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We tried it and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These are surprisingly good. I got about 36 cookies out of this recipe. Used butter instead of shortening. These are excellent with a chai latte. I think I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkotb99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Made these with butter instead of shortening and I didn't have apple pie spice so i made my own along with help from some fellow reviewers this is what i arrived at: 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. allspice, 1 tsp. of nutmeg & 1 tsp of ginger. Its not as sweet as your average sugar cookie, perhaps because the whole wheat doesn't absorb flavors well. But its healthier than most and everyone that had one enjoyed it. I'll definitely try this with the chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made these cookies yesterday and they were great! I used regular shortening and nutmeg instead of apple pie spice. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was deffinently a different way for me to make cookies. The whole wheat flour is such a nice change from the usual all-purpose, and it made the cookies taste better! I accidently added the flour in before blending but adding another egg allows the flour to combine just like normal cookie dough. And also try using chocolate chips instead of m&ms, they melt a bit and allow you to spread them like frosting, making them that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gianteater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
only thing i changed was i added more milk because the mixture seemed too dry maybe its because i didn't melt the butter all the way....i also did not have apple spice so i used cinnamon. very good.. soft and fluffy...my wife likes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My kids thought it lacked something, and I'd have to agree. Seemed like it could have used a little more zing to the spice or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I use this recipe for cutout cookies. Refrigerate dough for about 1 hr. before rolling out. I use pumpkin pie spice and make autumn leaf cutout cookies and let the kids decorate them. I do not put the extra cinnamon and sugar on them as they will have enough sugar with the frosting and sprinkles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I didn't have any apple spice, so I just added some nutmeg and cinnamon, and used a little less than a cup of oil instead of butter. It came out rather delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States