Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Lots of rave reviews from my co-workers. I made these cookies for Valentines Day. I have two kids at college and needed to find a cookie to mail. I stuck to the recipe but took the advise of others and added 1 tsp of cream of tartar. I omitted the nutmeg as a personal choice and instead added 1/8 tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. Before refrigerating, I divided the dough into thirds, patting each third into a flat circle, wrapped each in plastic wrap and refrigerated. Each circle was ready to roll out that way. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very good, came out thick and soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I thought these cookies turned out just OK. I made them for me and my family and the general consensus was that they weren't sweet enough, they were bland, and the texture was a bit off. They make a decent cookie if you don't like too much sweetness, but don't make these expecting a traditional sugar cookie flavour and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a very good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Best Christmas cookies I have ever made! I did add 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar and used yogurt instead of sour cream because I had it in the house. I appreciated the suggestions to roll it out a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Finally found a keeper! Exactly what I have been looking for. These rolled out like a dream. Most other roll-out cookies are simply way too sweet to add frosting to. These are perfectly sweet to eat on their own, but not too sweet so you can add frosting, glaze or sugar crystals and it will not be too overpowering. They baked up thick, soft and hearty. Not a single broken one! I did add 1/2 tsp of almond extract in addition to the vanilla extract to add more flavor as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I loved these cookies! I chilled overnight and the dough was very easy to use. So soft and yummy! I wish I knew what icing you used as I tried the wilton cookie.icing and it ran off the cookies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This has always been THE sugar cookie recipe for our family. Soft, not too sweet, easy to work with. Thanks for posting it so I always have easy access!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bloombaby
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Used this recipe to make snowflake cookies for my daughter's Frozen birthday party. Made the dough exactly as the instructions stated but omitted the nutmeg and added a teaspoon of almond extract. Chilled the dough overnight and even frozen the cut outs before baking them. The first batch came out a little brown on the corners so I lowered the temp to 350 for 8 mins and they were PERFECT! The dough did puff a little despite the freezing and lost a little detail in the cut outs but not much. I frosted them with royal icing and just had one after leaving them in a Tupperware all night and they are SO SOFT and yummy. Maybe the best recipe for sugar cookies I've ever used. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States