Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Tastes wonderful like shortbread/sugar from the bakery. Didn't change the recipe except added a little extra flour (about 1/4 cup).I cut out with a water glass, it made two dozen (minus one we ate the raw dough). Split into 3 baggies put in freezer for an hour, they cut and baked perfectly. Baked about 8 at a time on parchment paper and kept dough refrigerated in between. Used "sugar cookie icing" on this site. They look very close to bakery style. I have a feeling I will get requests for these. Next time I will ice them prettier I was in a hurry and had to go with Red/Blue for our school colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made these cookies with my daughter and was a little let down. The dough was on the dry side and the cookies had a floury taste to them. I think they would be better with less flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chitownangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caramello
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These cookies were surprisingly delicious! Similar to another reviewer, they may look like your average sugar cookie, but everyone who tried it was always surprised by how good they tasted. They loved the texture as well! My husband brought them to work and they were a big hit! I did roll them extra thick and then hand cut the hearts with a knife. (I didn't have a cookie cutter that shape.) I split the dough in half and wrapped each half with saran and put in the freezer for an hour and they were easy to roll. Could have left them for less time actually. I also reduced the cooking time to 5mins because I have a dark pan. And definitely keep the nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We're gluten free, so ii substituted namaste's perfect flour mix in place of the flour, and substituted cream of tarter for the nutmeg, per another reviewer's suggestion, and these were amazing! They puffed up nincely, but still kept their shape! Just a suggestion, i placed a sheet of partrament paper on the counter, put the dough on the a paper, then covered the dough up with wax paper, then rolled on top of that. I dipped the cookie cutter in sugar, then pressed it in, so the dough doesnt stick to the cookie, then peeled away the excess dough. then i picked up the sheet of parchment paper and placed it on the cookie sheet to bake. This way nothing sticks, you dont mess up the cookies moving them, and your counter stays clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I really loved this recipie. However I got half way through creaming the butter and measuring out everything before I realized I was out of eggs. I substituted one tablespoon ground flax seed for each egg. I also didn't have enough sour cream so I substituted cream cheese for the remaining amount, It was about 1/4 c. I also let the dough sit over night. They rolled out and cut great. I rolled them in powdered sugar and baked for 5-6 mins. They held their shape and have great flavor, not too sweet. They are slightly nuttier because of the flax seed, But they taste just fine to my family. I will make this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Kind of blah...I was looking for a soft, roll-out sugar cookie that tastes great, and these WERE soft; however, they were somewhat bland-even with the nutmeg. I think I'm looking for something that doesn't exist! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These cookies were definitely softer - almost cake like. My husband liked to eat them all by themselves with no frosting. I on the other hand did not think they were sweet enough - the nutmeg seemed strong to me. I did not refrigerate the dough overnight - instead I placed in the freezer to harden to make cutting shapes easier. Lots of flour also helped. I would try another recipe before coming back to this one...it was not bad, but I am looking for a different flavor and texture - even though this was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These cookies are absolutely perfect!! They stayed soft until the last one was gone! The dough is super smooth, the baked cookies have a delicate sweetness, and I wouldn't hesitate to give these as gifts, that's how great they turn out! I substituted the nutmeg with a few drops of lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very happy with this recipe. I have been using a different sugar cookie recipe for years, and my husband asked me to find one that was "softer". I make LOTS of Christmas cookies, and I had high hopes for this recipe. It didn't disappoint. I topped it with Icing For Sour Cream Cookies from this site and it was a nice balance of a sweet topping on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe to a tee except I used Activia vanilla yogurt because that's the only formed dairy product I had on hand and rolled them in colored sugar before baking and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States