Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I used these last night to make Snowman cookies. They were absolutely delicious. I'm a very impatient baker and I never can wait for dough to harden in the fridge, so I cut them out immediately by rolling the dough between two sheets of wax paper and then dipping the cutter into sugar before cutting. It worked very easily. Definitely a recipe I will use often. Oh, and by the way, make sure to space the cookies far enough apart. These babies really puff up--but keep their shape beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
These are delicious!! I rolled mine thicker than 1/4 inch & baked them for 6 & 1/2 minutes so they would be nice and soft; they were still soft days after I baked them. I am giving them 4 stars because you have to work with care if you want to use cookie cutters (roll between wax paper for easy transfering). Place them on a cookie sheet & refridgerate or freeze for a few minutes; they will bake better if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have been searching and SEARCHING for the perfect soft sugar cookie recipe and I think this is it! The key is them still being soft the next day. I rolled them fairly thick and was careful not to overbake them, and I think that helped. I also substituted grated orange rind for nutmeg because I'm generally not a huge nutmeg fan. I iced them with cream cheese icing and they were a huge hit! Thanks, Eileen. P.S. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine becaue I was out of butter and I think that may have helped them hold their shape. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PSNEED5
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Very good sugar cookies. I added 1 1/2 t. cream of tartar, as it sets sugar cookies apart. The sour cream made this cookie extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULESMICHY
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I've been on the hunt for a great sugar cookie recipe for years. Even my grandmother's fell short. Either the cookies baked hard and flat, or too crumbly/grainy in texture, and all of them were totally flavorless - like cardboard. This recipe has flavor, the texture is perfect, and it really puffs up when you bake it. I took everyone's advice and decreased the nutmeg to about 1/8 of a teaspoon, plus a couple of dashes of cinnamon. I paired it with the Sugar Cookie Icing by Janice Brubaker, and it was a smash hit. 10 out of 10. I've found my sugar cookie recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This made a great cookie to decorate. I didn't chill overnight and they turned out anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Super sugar cookies! I made jumbo Christmas ball cut-outs (similar to the picture within the site which advertised "christmas cookies"). I made the dough a day ahead of time and refrigerated it in 2 "logs" wrapped in waxed paper. The chilling was necessary, as even while working with it cold, it got a bit sticky. I rolled each log out on my silicone baking sheet and cut cookies out directly on it, peeled off the uncut portion as the cut outs remained...this allowed me to not have to "move" each cut out to a baking sheet which would have been tough as the dough was soft/sticky (as mentioned above). They turned out delicious...and stayed soft. In general I detest making cut-outs, as I find them ot be WAY too much work but after tasting this recipe, it was worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is an excellent sugar cookie recipe that I have been using over a year. I figured it was time to write my own review after reading some of the recent surprising negative reviews. My kids always request this cookie for their holiday party snacks at school. There is definitely not too much flour in this recipe. If you were to use any less you would be left with a gooey mess that wouldn't be able to be rolled out. I have made this recipe so many times and never once did I have a batch where the dough turned out crumbly. The directions say to use softened butter and I place the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds to basically have it melted before starting on the recipe (maybe others don't have their butter softened enough to begin with). Next, I add all the ingredients but the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and nutmeg and cream them. Then I add half the flour (2 cups) and mix again. After that is well blended I add the remaining 2 cups of flour with the other dry ingredients and mix. Personally, I like the nutmeg in these cookies and don't find it to be too much at all and find it hardly noticeable. Also, I saw someone mention these don't brown up on top. I have never wanted my sugar cookies to brown up on top and have been known to take them out a little early to make sure they don't. I use the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe from this site by JBS Box and it works excellently with these cookies. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I thought that these were great soft sugar cookies. Even the next day they were still soft. I left out the nutmeg and used cream of tartar instead. I frosted them with buttercream frosting and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ficklepip
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were delicious! Soft and chewy. And, everyone that tried them loved them! Once, I substituted the sour cream for yogurt and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ficklepip

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States