Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
SOFT COOKiES!! Just what I have been looking 4! even though I didn't read the recipe clearly(ran out of sugar so halfed the recipe,didn't refridgerate dough overnight made just an hour or less) Rolled out great,don't bake too long and they actually seemed to get softer with each day,I eyeballed the nutmeg so a little strong but it gave it a different flavor that I really liked! Try this it is a great soft rollout recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BagelBabe

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was fabulous! Soft, perfectly sweet sugar cookie. I made as directed but made sure that I made the butter and sugar mix really fluffy and then once I added the egg and sour cream - made sure it was very fluffy. I didn't put it in the fridge overnight but rolled it out and cut it into cookies. After the first batch came out a little firm with the recommended time- I decreased bake time to 6 minutes at 375 and let them cool on the pan for a good 5 minutes. Perfect. Soft, not brown on the bottom at all, no crispy edges- just soft and sweet. Fantastic recipe! The next time I make them I will make them thicker (getting only 2 doz or so), add a couple minutes to the bake time and ice them. They have the soft bakery feel and taste. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
i've made 3 different sugar cookie recipes recently (all top rankers on allrecipes), and this one beat all of them. it produces soft "cake-like" cookies similar to the texture of the ones at the grocery store. it's exactly what i wanted, and the only adjustment i made was reducing the nutmeg a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyduck33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These cookies were great!! I stuck them in the freezer to chill for about 45 minutes and used powdered sugar to help roll them out. I added a bit more vanilla than called for and also put about 2 tablespoons of zested orange peel. They were so tasty and sweet we didn't even frost them, but a cranberry frosting would be awesome with the orange peel, I'm sure. I might cut the sugar back a bit next time and frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very good, even as a drop cookie, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This deserves absolutely no stars. I made it as stated except cut the nutmeg in half. Disgusting. I like nutmeg, however it was still overpowering. I made another batch without it altogether, and they still tasted like nothingness. Just Ick. No frosting could save them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is THE BEST sugar cookie recipe I've ever used. If you REALLY want to knock your guests/ family/ boyfriend off their feet, use the "Butter Frosting" recipe on top. I used red food coloring for Valentine's Day cookies and they tasted better AND looked better than anything you could buy at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cberrios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
If you like thick, soft, delicious cutout sugar cookies, this is your recipe! They remind me of the good cutouts in the mall stores but they taste a lot better! Good with icing or just with sprinkles (LOTS of sprinkles). The dough is really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaa55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These came out very nice, had a puffiness to them. but still flat enough to decorate. You need to think ahead and have them sit in the fridge for a day, I let them sit for two. Then let them thaw most of the day since the dough was rock hard. But they rolled out wonderfully with not alot of flour and baked nicely. the taste was more appealing than the Valentines sugar cookies so will stick this recipe unless there is something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
notmy favorite sugar cookie. a: dont like the wait. b: i like soft but these taste like cake and i dont care for cake. c: its a roll out cookie that melts fast gets a bit to sticky. didnt even finish making them, i made only one tray. instead of being a joy to make they are now a chore i need to get around to finishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States