Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This cookie rocks! Soft and wonderful. My new favorite sugar cookie recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best sugar cookie I ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were just what I was looking for in a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! Several years ago a friend had given me a similar recipe for cutouts, but I lost it. I used the advanced search option and found this. The sour cream and nutmeg make these cookies taste amazing!! I made a double batch for Christmas and my husband liked them so much that he was a little stingy with them (didn't want to share). This will be my "go to" recipe for cutouts from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Tasted like baked flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Finally! I found a recipe that is comparable to my grandma's sugar cookies! ... with a few changes. I don't know how much nutmeg I used, but I grated it in myself. I also added about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and about a 1/16 of all spice. I didn't chill it overnight - just left it in the fridge for an hour or so while I made another kind of cookie - then instead of rolling them out, I made about 1" balls and rolled them in a mix of granulated sugar and sugar in the raw - then baked them as is (not flattened) for about 11 minutes - transferring them to a wire rack after about a minute. They were very fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Easy recipe and cookies turned out great with a few changes. I replaced half of the nutmeg with cinnamon and I reduced the amount of flour to about 3 and 1/3 cups and used a cookie scoop to shape them into balls. Then I flattened each cookie with the bottom of a sugar coated glass. The first sheet I baked for 10 minutes, but they were a little rare for my taste. The second I baked for a little longer and they turned out great. I think these should be baked for at least 10 minutes, but maybe my oven is a little off. Thanks for a great cookie recipe that helped me use up some sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I like this particular recipe because it uses sour cream. If you want a plain vanilla sugar cookie, just omit the nutmeg. In my opinion, this is the best "from scratch" recipe if you're looking for a copycat for the Lofthouse cookies. Of course, you would want to omit the numeg for the Lofthouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This has been my go-to recipe for sugar cookies for years. The only change I make is omitting the nutmeg, mainly because I don't like it. Everyone always looks bored when I tell them I've brought sugar cookies, until they try these and then they are converts. What I really love, is that the cookies themselves are not exceptionally sweet, so adding icing to them doesn't make them so sugary that no one can enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Bland. Granted, I am a sweet-tooth, so perhaps that just doesn't suit my preference. But my husband doesn't like sweet things, and according to him, these cookies are "tolerable." Please do not ignore the other bad reviews on here like I did. If you like the sweet type of sugar cookies you buy at a grocery store bakery, you ill not like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States