Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Easy recipe and cookies turned out great with a few changes. I replaced half of the nutmeg with cinnamon and I reduced the amount of flour to about 3 and 1/3 cups and used a cookie scoop to shape them into balls. Then I flattened each cookie with the bottom of a sugar coated glass. The first sheet I baked for 10 minutes, but they were a little rare for my taste. The second I baked for a little longer and they turned out great. I think these should be baked for at least 10 minutes, but maybe my oven is a little off. Thanks for a great cookie recipe that helped me use up some sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I like this particular recipe because it uses sour cream. If you want a plain vanilla sugar cookie, just omit the nutmeg. In my opinion, this is the best "from scratch" recipe if you're looking for a copycat for the Lofthouse cookies. Of course, you would want to omit the numeg for the Lofthouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This has been my go-to recipe for sugar cookies for years. The only change I make is omitting the nutmeg, mainly because I don't like it. Everyone always looks bored when I tell them I've brought sugar cookies, until they try these and then they are converts. What I really love, is that the cookies themselves are not exceptionally sweet, so adding icing to them doesn't make them so sugary that no one can enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Bland. Granted, I am a sweet-tooth, so perhaps that just doesn't suit my preference. But my husband doesn't like sweet things, and according to him, these cookies are "tolerable." Please do not ignore the other bad reviews on here like I did. If you like the sweet type of sugar cookies you buy at a grocery store bakery, you ill not like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christinaxrn
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made exactly as recipe stated and they came out delicious. Made them for Easter, so I used springtime cookie cutters and pastel icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinaxrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
BEST EVER!!! I have been searching for a good sugar cookie recipe and my trail ends here. They are so easy to manage and hold their shape well when cooked. The best part is how soft they are. I despise crunchy cookies and these are moist and tender, even a few days later. I've used plain yogurt in place of sour cream and half splenda and they turn out wonderfully. I've tried more splenda and I don't know if that ruined them but they came out bland and weird. Can't rave about these enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Broderick-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quixotic Life
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was a good sugar cookie. I make these more for the decoration I put on top so the actual taste of the cookie is just ok. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quixotic Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Ridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Really delicious. I also added cinnamon to it that worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
So easy and so delicious. We started a new Christmas Eve tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I used this recipe last year and everyone loved it so moist and yummy and soft i am doing this again this year this is the only sugar cookie recipe ill use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States