Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We're gluten free, so ii substituted namaste's perfect flour mix in place of the flour, and substituted cream of tarter for the nutmeg, per another reviewer's suggestion, and these were amazing! They puffed up nincely, but still kept their shape! Just a suggestion, i placed a sheet of partrament paper on the counter, put the dough on the a paper, then covered the dough up with wax paper, then rolled on top of that. I dipped the cookie cutter in sugar, then pressed it in, so the dough doesnt stick to the cookie, then peeled away the excess dough. then i picked up the sheet of parchment paper and placed it on the cookie sheet to bake. This way nothing sticks, you dont mess up the cookies moving them, and your counter stays clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I really loved this recipie. However I got half way through creaming the butter and measuring out everything before I realized I was out of eggs. I substituted one tablespoon ground flax seed for each egg. I also didn't have enough sour cream so I substituted cream cheese for the remaining amount, It was about 1/4 c. I also let the dough sit over night. They rolled out and cut great. I rolled them in powdered sugar and baked for 5-6 mins. They held their shape and have great flavor, not too sweet. They are slightly nuttier because of the flax seed, But they taste just fine to my family. I will make this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Kind of blah...I was looking for a soft, roll-out sugar cookie that tastes great, and these WERE soft; however, they were somewhat bland-even with the nutmeg. I think I'm looking for something that doesn't exist! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These cookies were definitely softer - almost cake like. My husband liked to eat them all by themselves with no frosting. I on the other hand did not think they were sweet enough - the nutmeg seemed strong to me. I did not refrigerate the dough overnight - instead I placed in the freezer to harden to make cutting shapes easier. Lots of flour also helped. I would try another recipe before coming back to this one...it was not bad, but I am looking for a different flavor and texture - even though this was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These cookies are absolutely perfect!! They stayed soft until the last one was gone! The dough is super smooth, the baked cookies have a delicate sweetness, and I wouldn't hesitate to give these as gifts, that's how great they turn out! I substituted the nutmeg with a few drops of lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very happy with this recipe. I have been using a different sugar cookie recipe for years, and my husband asked me to find one that was "softer". I make LOTS of Christmas cookies, and I had high hopes for this recipe. It didn't disappoint. I topped it with Icing For Sour Cream Cookies from this site and it was a nice balance of a sweet topping on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe to a tee except I used Activia vanilla yogurt because that's the only formed dairy product I had on hand and rolled them in colored sugar before baking and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Its pretty good me my son and my husband loved this cookies,and i even more love soft cookies...deserves for 5 star and actually we put jam in the middle of the cookie its really good and came out really good.My husband is asking for more cookies hehe..gonna make him more tommorow.thank you for this recipe,loved it ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very soft, but not very sweet. Don't make them too thick... they'll end up tasting like biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Best sugar cookie of all time. My sweetie chooses these over his previous favorite, chocolate chip. Spice to your tastes, I added a little pumpkin pie spice along with the nutmeg. They freeze well too and remain soft. Make extra batches if you want to freeze some, they won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States