Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! Been looking for a soft sugar cookie and I believe this is it. Excellent texture, and not too sweet nor spicy. I added 1/4tsp cream of tartar, and added and extra tsp of vanilla ( personal pref.). Only chilled dough for 15/20 mins ( no need to chill really). I decided to roll the dough for Xmas shapes, worked out great, but guess my cutters were too big?? LOL... I have very large cookies, which turned out to make 30 cookies in all. Used coloured sugar on some and will icing some later once cooled. Definitely keeper !! Thanx so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was the best sugar cookie l ever made .l batch made 107 cookies .it felt for ever to cook them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Hicks-young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is by far the best recipe I have ever used for Christmas cookies. I added 1-1/2 t. of cream of tartar like some of the other reviews suggested. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
They were moist and very good. I haven't been able to find a good sugar cookie recipe and this is the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The dough was so sticky I could not roll it out or cut it with cookie cutters. It tasted like bread and the bottom burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Did not enjoy this recipe at all. I used real butter and real vanilla. Saying the cookies were BLAH is an exaggeration, the predominant flavour was baked flour. Even frosted kids and adults alike would not eat them 8( Unfortunately I ignored the bad reviews and made these for a kaffee klatch and had more than half to bring home and threw in the garbage. Ignore the bad reviews at your own peril 8(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candicek24
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made sugar skull cookies out of these and they came out great. They were for a kids party and everyone loved them. They gold their shape best if you chill the dough before you cut am then roll them. I also let them sit in the freezer for about 10 mins before I baked them. I made a simple royal icing using pasteurized egg whites and decorators sugar. They were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Tastes wonderful like shortbread/sugar from the bakery. Didn't change the recipe except added a little extra flour (about 1/4 cup).I cut out with a water glass, it made two dozen (minus one we ate the raw dough). Split into 3 baggies put in freezer for an hour, they cut and baked perfectly. Baked about 8 at a time on parchment paper and kept dough refrigerated in between. Used "sugar cookie icing" on this site. They look very close to bakery style. I have a feeling I will get requests for these. Next time I will ice them prettier I was in a hurry and had to go with Red/Blue for our school colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made these cookies with my daughter and was a little let down. The dough was on the dry side and the cookies had a floury taste to them. I think they would be better with less flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chitownangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caramello
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These cookies were surprisingly delicious! Similar to another reviewer, they may look like your average sugar cookie, but everyone who tried it was always surprised by how good they tasted. They loved the texture as well! My husband brought them to work and they were a big hit! I did roll them extra thick and then hand cut the hearts with a knife. (I didn't have a cookie cutter that shape.) I split the dough in half and wrapped each half with saran and put in the freezer for an hour and they were easy to roll. Could have left them for less time actually. I also reduced the cooking time to 5mins because I have a dark pan. And definitely keep the nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States