Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bloombaby
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Used this recipe to make snowflake cookies for my daughter's Frozen birthday party. Made the dough exactly as the instructions stated but omitted the nutmeg and added a teaspoon of almond extract. Chilled the dough overnight and even frozen the cut outs before baking them. The first batch came out a little brown on the corners so I lowered the temp to 350 for 8 mins and they were PERFECT! The dough did puff a little despite the freezing and lost a little detail in the cut outs but not much. I frosted them with royal icing and just had one after leaving them in a Tupperware all night and they are SO SOFT and yummy. Maybe the best recipe for sugar cookies I've ever used. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! Been looking for a soft sugar cookie and I believe this is it. Excellent texture, and not too sweet nor spicy. I added 1/4tsp cream of tartar, and added and extra tsp of vanilla ( personal pref.). Only chilled dough for 15/20 mins ( no need to chill really). I decided to roll the dough for Xmas shapes, worked out great, but guess my cutters were too big?? LOL... I have very large cookies, which turned out to make 30 cookies in all. Used coloured sugar on some and will icing some later once cooled. Definitely keeper !! Thanx so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was the best sugar cookie l ever made .l batch made 107 cookies .it felt for ever to cook them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Hicks-young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is by far the best recipe I have ever used for Christmas cookies. I added 1-1/2 t. of cream of tartar like some of the other reviews suggested. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
They were moist and very good. I haven't been able to find a good sugar cookie recipe and this is the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The dough was so sticky I could not roll it out or cut it with cookie cutters. It tasted like bread and the bottom burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Did not enjoy this recipe at all. I used real butter and real vanilla. The cookies were BLAH, the predominant flavour was baked flour. Ignore the bad reviews at your own peril 8(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candicek24
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made sugar skull cookies out of these and they came out great. They were for a kids party and everyone loved them. They gold their shape best if you chill the dough before you cut am then roll them. I also let them sit in the freezer for about 10 mins before I baked them. I made a simple royal icing using pasteurized egg whites and decorators sugar. They were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Tastes wonderful like shortbread/sugar from the bakery. Didn't change the recipe except added a little extra flour (about 1/4 cup).I cut out with a water glass, it made two dozen (minus one we ate the raw dough). Split into 3 baggies put in freezer for an hour, they cut and baked perfectly. Baked about 8 at a time on parchment paper and kept dough refrigerated in between. Used "sugar cookie icing" on this site. They look very close to bakery style. I have a feeling I will get requests for these. Next time I will ice them prettier I was in a hurry and had to go with Red/Blue for our school colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made these cookies with my daughter and was a little let down. The dough was on the dry side and the cookies had a floury taste to them. I think they would be better with less flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chitownangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States