Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These did not turn out at all for me. Based on the other reviews, I must've done something wrong, but I don't know what. Maybe I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My girlfriend has a sugar cookie recipe that she got from this site that contained sour cream so I tried this one. A very good sugar cookie and very easy to decorate but not quite as good as my girlfriend's recipe. I'll have to ask her for her recipe. Still, this one is going into my recipe box. I really enjoyed them and it was super easy. I had even left the dough in the fridge for 2 days (too tired to make the first day) and it was still really good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These cookies were nice and soft, pretty good all around. I did have to add more flour. They tasted like egg nog, which was good but a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelseylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Finally! I found the perfect sugar cookie recipe! I just added a 1/2 tsp. of almond extract to give it some extra flavor. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful tasting sugar cookie. The only complaint I have is that my cookies were flat....however, my baking soda and powder have been around for a while so it just could have been that they were no longer any good. Since they didn't puff up, they also were a little overbaked. However, even with the cookies being flat and a little overbaked, there were still good. I love nutmeg and it gave the cookies a different taste. Icing covers a multitude of sins they tasted pretty darn good! This recipe is a keeper. Next time, mental note, have fresh baking soda and powder and I am sure these will be five stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I was very careful to follow the recipe closely, but the cookies didn't turn out very well. Although the cookies really are soft (not chewy, just soft), the taste is just okay. It's a little bland. The dough was very difficult to work with. When it's chilled, it's very hard and very crumbly so it didn't roll out smoothly. Once it softened up a little, it became very sticky even after I floured the surface, the rolling pin, and the cookie cutters. I really like the idea of a soft sugar cookie, but it's just too messy to work with the dough, especially when I am hoping to do shaped cutouts. I would recommend people who are trying this recipe for the first time to just make little balls of the dough, maybe roll it in some sugar, and flatten it with the bottom of a glass. If you find the dough workable for you, then you can try to do cut-outs the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This wasn't a good recipe at all. I followed the recipe to the T except I added 2 tsp vanilla instead of 1. The cookie tasted very bland and very doughy texture. I won't make this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
very good! nice and soft and perfect for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great taste. But they crumbled, were too thin and stuck to pan. Will find a different sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I hadn't made cut out cookies in over 4 years, and the last time I did, they lost their shape after baking and weren't the soft, chewy texture I craved for. So, I decided to give this recipe a shot, since I need to bring some to a cookie decorating party next week. I followed the directions as listed, omitting the nutmeg (since I didn't have any on hand). Chilled the dough overnight in the fridge. I took it out at 6 am the next day and was worried because it got REALLY hard overnight and I wondered if this would make it too difficult to roll out. Amazingly, after warming up the dough a bit by kneading it (by hand), it rolled out fairly easily and cur outs were clean. I tasted one as soon as it came out of the oven, and it was not too sweet and pretty soft. I froze all of the cookies since the party is not for a week..so, I hope they stay soft once I defrost them. They aren't quite the soft cookie I was expecting (I was hoping they'd be like the soft frosted ones you buy at the grocery store), but they held their dhape nicely and will do well with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States