Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
We used this recipe for rolled out cookies. I baked them for 11 minute- I took them out before they started to brown,as we wanted super soft cookies. They came out great. The dough held its shape well, and didnt require chilling before rolling and cutting. I found it very easy to work with. I sprinkled one pan with cinnamon and sugar before baking- they were great! The kids used frosting on some of them. Since they are not super sweet on their own, the frosting isnt to much. edit to add: we've made this recipe a few times now. Its even better if you add the zest of one medium orange. It gives them a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
738 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Be sure to cream the butter, shortening, and sugar together until mixture is light and fluffy before proceding to next step. This will make a big difference. Also, it helps to chill the dough before rolling into balls. This is the best sugar cookie I've ever tasted! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
659 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I couldnt believe how delicious and soft these cookies came out! I was soo undecided on which cookie recipe to go with, but I went with my gut on this one, and Im so glad that I did. Because they turned out sooooo delicious. I rolled them into good size balls, then dropped the tops of them in some pink sugar crystals, and flatened the top with a glass, baked for 8 mins, and they were perfect, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe. There was nothing really spectacular about the flavor. It tasted like a normal sugar cookie. The texture however, was fantastic. It yielded nice soft cookies than browned perfectly in 10 minutes. The sugar on the outside gave a crunchy coating that contrasted beautifully with the soft centers. I also enjoyed how easy this recipe was to make. I didn't have any shortening on hand, so I just used butter, but they still came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used to love the sugar cookies they had in the Mall (at $2 a cookie!) because they were always soft...on my 1st try with this recipe, they turned out better than those mall cookies. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very easy to make! I use margarine for the shortening. They remind me of Lofthouse cookies-only a little smaller. I make a glaze with powdered sugar, milk, and a little vanilla (and some fun food coloring) to glaze these. You can add sprinkles at this point also. Kids LOVE them. I've been bringing them in for school b-day parties (and the teachers like them too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHER
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
These are just excellent. I made them exactly according to the recipe and they got rave reviews and disappeared quickly. I thought they were going to spread out and they didn't, so they are high cookies, not flat ones. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These cookies are great! I also made them without rolling in sugar and then frosted them - very yummy! They turned out soft and irresistable! They taste as good as our family traditional cutout sugar cookies, except you don't have to roll and cut out! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I hate it when people don't follow the recipe (they did not have eggs!!!) and then when it does not turn out they go ahead and rate the recipe poorly!!! DONT RATE IT IF YOUR DID NOT FOLLOW THE RECIPE!!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wow - these cookies are amazing! They mixed up easily and well and sat nicely on the sheet. My oven needed 15 minutes to get them just right. The texture, color and flavor are all excellent. I noted that some other reviewers had some issues with rolling these out - these are listed as a drop cookie and perhaps not intended to be rolled out. If you are looking for a quick to the oven tasty cookie that you can count on, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States