Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I agree with the other reviews that say these cookies have way too much salt. They tasted like salt cookies, not sugar cookies. The flavor was horrible! I followed the recipe to a "T" and they came out of the oven like little balls instead of flat and soft cookies. I'm known at the office to bring in amazing cookies for everyone to share, so I thought I'd try this one. No one would eat them. Guess I'm still looking for a great sugar cookie recipe to redeem myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Substituted coconut oil for shortening which gives it a nice, light coconut flavor when they bake up. Great recipe! I've gotten nothing but rave reviews. They disappear quickly. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
So easy and so good. Made these with my 3-year old and she loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Bland tasting. To me it tasted like I was just eating a bag of sugar. Not very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Fantastic. And, to the woman who claimed that was too much salt - I suggest she re-read her portion sizes because there is definitely not too much salt. Not even close. These cookies are incredibly soft (which is how I like my cookies anyway!) and they always turn out amazing. My entire family loves them, even my husband who doesn't even like to eat cookies period, let alone soft ones. He's a crunchy cookie type guy. I have made this recipe several times and I plan on making them many times more. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I love sugar cookies, but I don't love having to roll out the dough, chill, etc. so this drop cookie recipe was great. I used Mexican vanilla, and that gave them a really nice flavor. I sprinkled them with red and pink sugar for Valentine's Day and the two colors together made them really pretty. I prefer to flatten the balls with a glass and then sprinkle the sugar on; if you don't flatten them they come out very dome shaped and a little irregular looking, but they still taste great. We'll definitely make these again. Ours were done right at 11 minutes. Next time I might try subbing almond extract for the vanilla; I think we would love that too. The soft texture of these cookies is what makes them so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Used this receipe for my sons science experment. Super easy to make and very yummy.! Tryed with 4 different artificial sweeteners. EEEWWW!!! DO NOT use anything but sugar. Very dry & the flavor was AWFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
best sugar cookies i have ever had! i didn't have shortening so i just substituted butter and they turned out great! i also used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond extract and a powdered sugar/milk/butter/almond extract frosting... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Way too much salt!! I would at LEAST half it next time! Also, if you don't want cookie balls, you must press the balls down (I used the underside of a big spoon). Maybe a seasoned sugar maker would know that, but I realized it halfway through! Other than that...delicious!!!!! PERFECT texture...slightly crunchy on the outside with a soft/cake-y inside...mmmmmm....almost makes up for too much salt! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Good loved this soft cookie. Did not change anything other than I used salted butter so I left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States