Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The cookie tasted okay. But I could definitely taste the shortening. Next time I might omit the shortening and just use all butter. I can't get over the shortening bc it's all I taste. I was hoping for better results, but they weren't that satisfying. And they aren't soft at all when they're cooled. Maybe I just did something wrong? Although I call myself following the recipe, only thing I did was at an extra 1/4 cup of sugar, as I like them very sugary. But even with that, I could still very much taste the shortening. =\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great cookie recipe! I used 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour and the cookies were delicious. I also rolled it out and cut with cookie cutters (omitting the granulated sugar), which worked perfectly with this dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I was expecting so much more. They were bland and not sweet. Definitely add frosting to these. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T. The cookies were not soft, lacked flavor, and stayed like the way you put them on the cookie sheet. I will not make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Oh my goodness!! These are so so good! I don't like shortening so I used butter only! And these still came out so so delicious! I was hoping they would be since the reviews were so amazing for them!! Thanks to the mrs. Who posted this!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These cookies tasted great, but turned hard the next day. I placed a couple in the microwave for about 20 seconds and these were soft again. Great cookies, but eat them ight away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've been using this site for over a year and this is the first time I have bothered reviewing a recipe. This was extremely easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Anyone who gave this recipe a bad review did something wrong or just doesn't like sugar cookies. Today I'm on the hunt for a frosting recipe for these! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I wanted a rolled sugar cookie for Valentine's day and decided to try this one even though you don't need to roll them. So glad I did. They were wonderful. I did make two small changes. I used only butter ( I substituted butter for shortning) and probably used 3 tsp vanilla. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I liked this recipe because you didn't have to roll them out. It was easy for my 3 year to help me too! I might also have put a pinch less salt, but that is personal taste. I used margarine too, because I didn't have shortening and they were just fine. I would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. They were soft, but the reviews that talk about to much salt were right. That seems to be the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States