Soft Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Calling these cookies is wrong, they are very cake like. They are still very yummy. They should change the name of this recipe to flat cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
From other reviewers I expected these to be much more thick/cakelike, so I decreased the amount of baking powder by almost half. According to gourmetsleuth.com: "Baking soda must come in contact with an acid in order to form carbon dioxide gas which in turns makes the baked product rise." Sour cream is one of those acids. Anyway, these turned out fluffy and flavorful. I didn't want to ruin them with icing so we enjoyed them plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I think they are great! They are cake-like and very thick and soft. Also good if you add a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
yeah, these cookies aren't real pretty, but they taste so good, I didn't really think it mattered all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This is the worst recipe ever. Sugar Cookies recipe, that is the furthest from the truth. The dough was so thin it was closer to a batter. I made the recipe again checking all the ingredients 2X's. The bake like pancakes. They are not firm like a cookie, they are not sweet like a SUGAR cookie. They are more like little pancakes. Usually I can salvage the finished product. So I brought them to work, where everyone eats anything. They just complained and I just ended up throwing them out. This is not a Sugar cookie recipe, do be fooled. Use it to make pancakes. Terrible... I will never make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Great cookies! These are the sugar cookies I remember from my childhood--thick, soft, and tasty. My search for the perfect sugar cookie recipe is over. Marsha, you are wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Absolutely terrible -- completely cake-like. If you want a cake, then make a cake, not cookies. I threw these all out and started over with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever. My children and I made a batch of these wonderfully thick and soft cookies and they lasted less than a day. It's fantastic by my family.:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
the texture of these cookies turned out very cake-like, which i find unappealing in a cookie. and they really only needed to be baked about 6 &1/2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States