Soft Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Like many other reviews have said, this cookie tastes almost exactly like a muffin top. It is perfect for a person on a diet, craving cakes and muffins (if you can limit yourself). I added vanilla and a touch of cinnamon to mine - just to see what it would taste like. Delicious. Also, when I was almost done I added some leftover chocolate chips. A hint of chocolate and fattening cake rolled in to a small cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These are as others reviewed soft cake-like cookies. I found them to be very tasty. You have to expect them to be cake-like, for the recipe calls for 3 eggs. If you don't want your cookie like cake decrease to 2 eggs instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
There are at least 17 reviews on here and most of them reference that these are soft cake-like cookies. The TITLE of the cookie is "Soft . . . " So why ae people still complaining about soft cake-like cookjies in their reviews??? For goodness sake, people, what are the reviews for if not to warn you away from things you're probably not going to like? (Of course there's other reasons to read the reviews too.) Anyway, I thought these were really good - soft as I expected and wanted. Not bursting with lots of flavor but I know that too from the reviews - and that's what I was looking for. Good cookies that were perfect with the spicy peaches that went with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I am going to have to go with everyone else on this- these cookies taste like and have the same texture of CAKE, not cookies. These are miniature cakes.. Not exactly what I was hoping for when looking for a soft sugar cookie recipe (I was thinking I would get something similar to what they sell in grocery stores)-- I would recommend baking these for kids' birthday parties or something, because my kids did enjoy them, but I personally found I didn't want to eat very many of these 'CAKE-ies'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a dash of vanilla because, well, I add vanilla to almost everything. I glazed them with some confectioner's sugar mixed with some vanilla and water, and it made them even tastier. While the cookies tasted great, everyone who says it's more like a cupcake than a cookie is correct. My husband and I are going to be calling them Cupcake Tops now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjhd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very good. Plain and simple, but thats what makes the delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are great cookies. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to them because I've never seen a cookie recipe that didn't ask for vanilla or some other flavoring. I figured the omission was a misprint. These are soft cake like cookies. Very yummy. My husband says they remind him of the ones his grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These are not sugar cookies. They came out very cakey. They did have a good flavor so after the first batch when I raelized they wouldn't be good as cookies, I baked the rest as a cake. Turned out to be a good pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I'm not an experienced cook or baker -I don't seem to have the patience for it- but this recipe looked fairly easy and yummy, since I hate hard, crunchy sugar cookies. I think maybe I should have just made the original kind of sugar cookie, because these came out horrible. I mean, totally disgusting. A waste of ingredients, my time, and my energy. I was thoroughly disappointed. I wanted to be able to sit down with warm, tastey cookies warming my frozen fingers, and got this garbage. Most reviewers issues with this recipe was that they came out too cake-like, but I like that. That is what I wanted. That is why I chose this recipe. But these were completely flavorless, and I had to lower the temperature to 400 degrees F and cook them for only 6 or 7 minutes so the friggin' bottoms didn't burn. *sighs in disgust* This whole experience was a pain. Luckily, I have only one cookie sheet, so each batch got a little better -though still unappetizing- because I added more and more sugar. LOL. I recommend adding vanilla extract too if you want it sweeter. Hell, toss in some nutmeg as well. *rolls eyes* Anything that will help. But, to be truthful, I wouldn't bake from this recipe ever again. *shakes head, disappointed* Not even my kick-butt cook of a mother could help me make these better. :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I absolutely love this cookie. I make several dozen every week so my husband can take them to work. The guys at my husbands job can't get enough of them...Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford Cliff, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States