Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I wasted a lot of time and ingredients on these. I cut down on the milk so I didn't have to add extra flour, but these cookies had way too much baking soda and baking powder in them. They smelled and tasted like pancakes because of it. I also cut down on the salt to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These weren't as soft as I hoped and could have used more flavor. I ended up putting cinnamon and sugar on the top of each cookie before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by petersonterry
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I used this recipe to make my fruit pizza, I topped them with cream cheese frosting, and fruit, and the kids at school LOVED them. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I did not care for these. I bake a lot of cookies, and I love almost all kinds of cookie. I wasted a lot of good ingredients on these. No one in my family would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love these big soft sugar cookies! The only thing that I would change is to make them a little sweeter, but since they are always served with frosting, it balances out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I like to try new things, so gave this recipe a try. I've never made sugar cookies with buttermilk in them...the dough was really hard to work with, which is the main reason I will likely never make them again. If you are making this recipe, set aside time to chill them, which I did not have. I used lots of flour (added an extra half cup to the dough before even attempting to roll them out) and a spatula to transfer the cuts, as the dough was too soft to hold shape on it's own. The cookies puff up nice and big and thick, which is great. The flavor is not really sugar cookie, not really spice cookie; good, just don't expect sugar cookie flavor with all the nutmeg. My son said the taste was 4 stars (especially with the Sugar Cookie Frosting), and I docked a star for 'ease of use' or lack thereof. So, worth a try, probably won't make it again :) Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Really good recipe. I will omit the nutmeg next time. I loved it. The kids didn't but requested them again "plain". I did add more flour but I only rolled them into balls and pressed with a glass to flatten slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
to all those who didnt like this gooey mess the key to this is remember to use lots of flour when rolling out and chill at least two hours or overnight.and any frosting will due this is a great soft cookie and you can add flavoring to make it taste different almond lemon etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
i used a little less milk and a tsp of lemon juice instaed of vinager, and more vanilla and rolled out in powdered sugar, dough wasnt sticky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I found this recipe useful. It took a bit more work than i had expected but a good cook/baker always knows how to fix something this is not going his/her way. I wouldn't bother chilling it because you can chill the thing for a year and it's not going to get any more workable for you. I found that the key to making this thing turn out right was tons and tons of flour. Once you have your dough ready and your getting ready to roll it out, grab a huge hanful of the dough and a huge handful of flour. Put the two together and start working them. Than make it into a ball like your gonna roll a pizza out and throw more flour all over it. Than flour up your folling pin and start rolling. In the middle of rolling if the dough starts to stick to your rolling pin, than throw some more flour over the dough and continue to roll. As long as you have flour on hand you should be safe. I think next time i will try another recipe but only because i've never made soft sugar cookies before and i'd like to know if it was supposed to be that intense to roll out and cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieMendoza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States