Soft Spread Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is a terrific way to lower the fat for spreadable butter without buying the fake stuff in the tub. Like others recommended, I softened 1 cup butter. Beat it till it was light and creamy in my KitchenAid mixer. Then I slowly poured in 1 cup canola oil and beat another 5 minutes occasionally scraping the sides of the bowl. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt for flavor. This makes a great deal of spread and I can see that i will not only save on fat, I will also save on the cost of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have to agree with other reviewers that I think it is more of a 1:1 ratio. Also I used salted butter as the recipe did not specify, whether I needed salted or unsalted. After I was done blending, I kept tapping the container on the countertop to make sure all the air bubbles escaped as they will show up later while congealing in the fridge. If they don't escape, it seems to make the mixture runnier faster at room temperature. Thanks Cal for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Excellent taste! This is an all natural butter that is still spreadable! Make sure to soften and not melt the butter. Now that I've got the hang of making it, I'll never use anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srgothard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This stuff is ace! Plain butter has 35% saturated fat, per tablespoon, or 1/3 a days worth. That is a lot! I have reduced butter usage in everyday cooking for cholesterol reasons. The only 2 options available, at the market that are not margarine, are whipped butter and butter with canola oil. Whipped butter, is just butter with air whipped into it which reduces the sat fat by half by doubling the volume. They are only selling half the amount of butter too!The butter with canola oil at the grocery store is over $3.50 for 15oz. "This recipe tastes and spreads exactly like that butter." Stick butter cost about 65 cents a stick, which makes this more affordable. I just put two sticks of butter in the empty, clean 15oz container for the same products. I microwaved the butter about 25-30 seconds, until softened and not melted, and then followed the directions for adding the canola oil to it. Make sure to use salted butter or add a little salt. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
What a wonderful idea. Olive oil would be the oil of choice since that is the oil most often used by the Mediterian people who seem to be very heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I use this same method, only I use light flavored or regular olive oil, depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made half a batch. I had trouble getting my butter and oil to come together (it eventually happened). Perhaps, my butter wasn't at room temperature. I added a garlic powder blend from Penzey's and some parsley flakes. Great flavor! Next time, I believe I will keep the butter and oil amounts equal. I feel that it's a little too soupy at the current ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this using my KA mixer. I had doubts that it would come together but I kept beating it and it did. It's liquidy when done but does set up in the refrigerator. I made the full recipe with some added salt since my butter was unsalted. The taste is good and i would make it again. The recipe yielded around 2 cups. Thanks Cal for a good recipe that replaces store bought junk. UPDATE: My initial batch eventually separated. So I adjusted the second batch. I defrosted 2 sticks of butter in my 1300w microwave for 39sec. The butter was very soft and partially melted. I put the butter in the KA with the whisk attachment and whisked it until it was smooth. I added a total of 1cup of canola oil with the first half added very slowly. This time I added 4 pinches of table salt. UPDATE: The spread did not separate when i used my updated method. Update: I whipped it longer this time so the spread is white and I made 2.5 cups instead of 2c. Will update with results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I cut this back to 12 servings. The reason why I made this is because I wanted a soft spread that I could add minced garlic and chopped parsley to for homemade garlic bread. This was exactly what I was looking for. I did use SALTED butter. I was able to mix this up around noon (with the added spices) and use to spread on garlic bread at dinnertime. It blew my mind. Who knew that homemade soft spread would be this easy to make and without chemicals? I'm really impressed. I'll use this recipe again for sure. NOTE: Twelve servings (1/3 cup of both salted butter and 1/3 cup oil) makes enough to spread on two sides of one large italian bread loaf. I only used half, there's plenty for next time I make garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I've done this twice now and it works! Just do it 1:1 and add a touch extra oil - then you can use it with any amount of butter you might have already softened. It really makes the butter stretch in our family of 7. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States