Soft Sandwich Buns (Dough Hook Mixer Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This made a great foundation for pulled pork sandwiches. Was disappointed that there were not any leftover. The family ate every one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Tried it tonight with bbq pulled pork and it was amazing! I made them so they were the size of hamburger buns, made 6. I did do 2 tsp of yeast as opposed to 1 1/4 tsp. They rose beautifully and were so soft. Will definitely be making more of these in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avalonsunrise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe twice exactly as directed. The first time, the dough didn't rise, and I thought maybe I had dead yeast so I tried a second batch with new yeast. It didn't rise sufficiently and I ended up with hockey pucks. And I'm not an inexperienced breadmaker. I will not try these again after two failed attemps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are excellent for sandwiches. I used the recipe exactly how it is written and they turned out great. A nice chewy outside and light Center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with these buns! I made a few changes so I didn't know if it was going to work out. I doubled the recipe and got about 24 nice sized buns. I had to use way more flour than the recipe called for as the dough was still really sticky. I probably added an extra cup, maybe even a cup and a half. I substituted half the flour for whole wheat flour. I also used olive oil instead of butter (I halved the amount). When I was making them I was worried they were not going to rise well, but they did and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bulletmck
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Best Hamburger bun ever! I add poppy seeds to mine for a more gourmet look. Worked ever so well for a southern citrus chipotle fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulletmck

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was a great recipe, and I think it can be adapted perfectly for crescent rolls at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! I had to hide the buns, so they'd last for another meal! We did cut down the sugar, too, but overall it was amazing. Perfect with butter or as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I halved the sugar and they were still a bit sweet for sandwich buns. Would make perfect dinner rolls, though. I also omitted step 5, and they came out super soft, fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Riegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I liked the texture of these buns, but the sugar should be cut in half at least. Much, much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States