Soft Sandwich Buns (Dough Hook Mixer Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This made a great foundation for pulled pork sandwiches. Was disappointed that there were not any leftover. The family ate every one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Tried it tonight with bbq pulled pork and it was amazing! I made them so they were the size of hamburger buns, made 6. I did do 2 tsp of yeast as opposed to 1 1/4 tsp. They rose beautifully and were so soft. Will definitely be making more of these in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avalonsunrise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe twice exactly as directed. The first time, the dough didn't rise, and I thought maybe I had dead yeast so I tried a second batch with new yeast. It didn't rise sufficiently and I ended up with hockey pucks. And I'm not an inexperienced breadmaker. I will not try these again after two failed attemps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are excellent for sandwiches. I used the recipe exactly how it is written and they turned out great. A nice chewy outside and light Center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with these buns! I made a few changes so I didn't know if it was going to work out. I doubled the recipe and got about 24 nice sized buns. I had to use way more flour than the recipe called for as the dough was still really sticky. I probably added an extra cup, maybe even a cup and a half. I substituted half the flour for whole wheat flour. I also used olive oil instead of butter (I halved the amount). When I was making them I was worried they were not going to rise well, but they did and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lety McKenzie
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Best Hamburger bun ever! I add poppy seeds to mine for a more gourmet look. Worked ever so well for a southern citrus chipotle fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lety McKenzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was a great recipe, and I think it can be adapted perfectly for crescent rolls at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! I had to hide the buns, so they'd last for another meal! We did cut down the sugar, too, but overall it was amazing. Perfect with butter or as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I halved the sugar and they were still a bit sweet for sandwich buns. Would make perfect dinner rolls, though. I also omitted step 5, and they came out super soft, fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Riegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I liked the texture of these buns, but the sugar should be cut in half at least. Much, much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States