Soft Pretzels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I don't ususally bake. Therefore, I was mortified when my gourmet club gave me the task of making soft prestzels for our German meal. They were fun and easy to make. I have become the "pretzel Queen"! They tasted GREAT and I got so MANY compliments. I served them with honey mustard dressing and that was a hit. In less than a week I am making them again. Thank you for sharing your recipe Anne! Oregonsoul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
These pretzels taste wonderful, however I had a difficult time twisting them into the classic pretzel shape. Also, I think using whole egg yolk, instead of just egg white, for brushing on top would give them a shinier appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
These pretzels expanded to about three times their original size and didn't taste like pretzels. It was more like a heavy bread dough. I don't recommend this recipe (the Soft Pretzel I recipe is better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe is delicious! I brushed them with olive oil instead of the egg, It made them more shiny, and the salt on top stuck better. My family LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Bakes up soft. My 12 year old son made these and they were great. We used sea salt for the outside of the pretzels before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this recipe was frusterating. First the dough was too dry and I had to add in some extra water for it to be workable. After letting it rise the dough was sticky. and when I baked them they stuck to the pan. I've made soft pretzels several times before, but it was my first time using this recipe. I would not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
It was good for me to do since it was my first time using yeast! Instead of putting kosher salt on it, I coated mines with cinnamon-sugar. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zinnada Hodges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I didn't really like this. I think the recipe definately needs improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
These turned out hard and tasteless. I suppose from all the good reviews it may have been human error, but I followed the recipe and am usually a decent baker so it was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
my family loved them this was the first ever that i made pretzels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States