Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
If you bake them for five (5) minutes before you drop them in the water, it makes them easier to handle, just pre-heat the oven to 300 for the initial baking, then raise the temp as directed for baking after the water bath. This also makes them alittle more airy, and less dense. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I, like another reviewer, unfortunately tried the Mall Pretzels from this site first...we LOVED that recipe. This was much quicker to make but the other reviewer was right the other recipe is much better. This also didn't work very well...oven temp too high and it just didn't taste as good as the other one. We will keep the other one. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I may have given these a better rating, had I not tried Mall Pretzels from this site first. These are quicker to make, but not near as good. The dough was tough to work with, it should rise for an hour first. When putting the pretzels in the baking soda water, I had one completely fall apart. I'm not sure I agree with the 475 degree temperature either. I had mine in for 9minutes, and they burned. They tasted okay, just more trouble to make than the Mall Pretzels. I will be using that recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is a good basic recipe but I did adjust it a bit. I omitted the margarine and used two cups of water. After the dough was mixed I hand kneaded several times and placed the dough in a greased bowl and let it rise for one hour. I then punched it down and kneaded it a couple of more times and cut the dough into sixteen pieces. Once my pretzels were formed I let them rest for about ten minutes while I prepared my boiling water to which I added two tablespoons of baking soda. The pretzels held a perfect shape while poaching and were easily extracted with a slotted flipper. Once cooled I brushed the pretzels with an egg wash and proceeded with a garlic and salt topping. They came out golden and shiney. The gang devoured them! Thanks for a good start Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Yummy! I followed the measurements exactly and combined it all in my cuisinart (fast!). It makes a nice dough. After shaping I increased the rising time to at least a full hour. I also found that boiling for longer than 1 min. and flipping them half way through in a steady simmer resulted in the chewier consistency we all are looking for. I reduced baking to 7 min. or golden, brushed with melted butter while cooling and sprinkled with either salt or cinnamon-sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Everything went well until I tried to lift them off the pan to boil them. Since the dough had risen, they were very delicate and were easily misshapen in the transfer process to the pot of water. Then they came out looking really weird. They taste good, though. And since they were boiled, they stay moist for awhile. So if you can't eat them all right away, they keep pretty well in a Ziploc bag. I think I'll try some other recipes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
These pretzels are absolutly wonderful. We used Bread flour instead of all purpose, they came out GREAT!!! For a really good treat coat with butter when you remove from the oven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The only difference I did was bake them at 400 degrees for 5 minutes; then turned the pan and baked another 3 minutes - because the first time I made them at 475, the batch came out very dark and hard. I also made one batch of brushed-on butter and coarse salt, and one batch with brushed-on butter and then sprinkled cinnamon sugar. The kids LOVED this, tasted like Monkey Bread. I also placed them on parchment paper, and sprayed that with cooking spray. They did not stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I like this one because the taste is closer to a soft pretzel you'd get in Philadelphia. If you are looking for the mall pretzel, this is not the recipe to choose. These are lighter and fluffier and have a more traditional pretzel taste. Definitely reduce the oven temperature to at least 450°. I baked them at that temperature for nine minutes, and they were close to burning. Next time I'll try it at 425°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i tried this recipie 3 times they all came out like rocks...i love soft pretzels and will continue to look for soft pretzel recipies any help or suggestions would be nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States