Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I may have given these a better rating, had I not tried Mall Pretzels from this site first. These are quicker to make, but not near as good. The dough was tough to work with, it should rise for an hour first. When putting the pretzels in the baking soda water, I had one completely fall apart. I'm not sure I agree with the 475 degree temperature either. I had mine in for 9minutes, and they burned. They tasted okay, just more trouble to make than the Mall Pretzels. I will be using that recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is a good basic recipe but I did adjust it a bit. I omitted the margarine and used two cups of water. After the dough was mixed I hand kneaded several times and placed the dough in a greased bowl and let it rise for one hour. I then punched it down and kneaded it a couple of more times and cut the dough into sixteen pieces. Once my pretzels were formed I let them rest for about ten minutes while I prepared my boiling water to which I added two tablespoons of baking soda. The pretzels held a perfect shape while poaching and were easily extracted with a slotted flipper. Once cooled I brushed the pretzels with an egg wash and proceeded with a garlic and salt topping. They came out golden and shiney. The gang devoured them! Thanks for a good start Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Superb recipe. Used garlic powder, black pepper and romano cheese & a little butter. Cooked these a little less, to make soft and light golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
These pretzels are absolutly wonderful. We used Bread flour instead of all purpose, they came out GREAT!!! For a really good treat coat with butter when you remove from the oven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
If you bake them for five (5) minutes before you drop them in the water, it makes them easier to handle, just pre-heat the oven to 300 for the initial baking, then raise the temp as directed for baking after the water bath. This also makes them alittle more airy, and less dense. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Everything went well until I tried to lift them off the pan to boil them. Since the dough had risen, they were very delicate and were easily misshapen in the transfer process to the pot of water. Then they came out looking really weird. They taste good, though. And since they were boiled, they stay moist for awhile. So if you can't eat them all right away, they keep pretty well in a Ziploc bag. I think I'll try some other recipes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
What can I say but YUM!! My kids helped shape these, and had a blast. DH, the four kids and I ate them right up. I follwed the reicpe pretty much exactly. Easy and delicious. Definately a *do again!* I'll try it in my ABM next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMATULLAH
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
we use this recipe all the time it's great! we sometimes stuff the dough like pizza pockets with tomato olives and cheese, we boil them and bake them, and they taste so good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2000
Maybe it was me, but these were not very good at all. I am used to working with dough, but they were soggy and floated all around the pot and broke. I would not make boiled pretzels again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I tried this recipe to the letter. I believe you should let the dough rise and then make it into ropes, then finish with the recipe, not the other way around. Otherwise, it is a good, easy to prepare treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States