Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Yummalicious! Thanks for the update Shrinkskid....I'll make sure to regrease the pan, thanks! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyzNikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
After letting the pretzels rise, it was difficult to lift from the pan and place in the hot water. My first pretzel fell apart after leaving it in the water for one minute. So the others, I just put in a few seconds. My next 6 pretzels, I didn't let rise long before putting them in the water, and that worked better. Baking them for 10 minutes burned them. The pan needs to be re-greased before cooking them. They were misshaped, but tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
this is a great and easy recipe! i gave it 4 stars because I did have to turn the baking temp down to about 425-450..but other than that..this is a great recipe and the family keeps asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritufts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
They came out awsome good and just as soft as mall pretzels. The only thing was the dough was hard to work with so I let it rise first then shaped into pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
i followed this recipe to the T and the pretzels came out like bread sticks!!!!! i do not recom. this!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Followed this recipe to the letter and it came out perfect! Our first try at soft pretzels is just delicious. I wonder if some who are having trouble with them sticking together are not quite getting the water "just to a boil" -- mine was tiny bubbles but not close to rolling. I was wondering if anybody has ever mixed things into the dough, bagel-style -- would diced green chiles and shredded cheddar work, for example?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I am 15 years old and these pretzels were a hit a my house! I found though that if i added the full amount of flour was too much and i needed to add more water which made it all sticky and not a nice dough so, i used about one cup less. Also i thought that the last part of the directions were not good. instead i used the dough and rolled them into pretzels. then i melted about 3 tablespoons of butter and i added a few pinches of kosher salt just to make sure it was nice and salty, then sort of patted the pretzels with the with a pastry brush full of the butter and i put more kosher salt on top. this made the outside nice and crispy with a nice golden brown colour and a soft melt in your mouth center. I only cooked them for 10 minutes and it worked alot better. i dont know if it is the size of my pretzels but i found they were over cooked. Next time i was wondering if i could put pizza filling in them. i don't know if that would work or if i need a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
As usual I didn't ready the instructions properly and didn't bring the water to a boil. I have an old and cantankerous oven that I have to work around the idiodsyncrazies of, so bringing the water to a boil was risky. I instead brought the water to a simmer, put the pretzel in and counted to 30 (for both sides). Any longer than 30 would produce something a little scary-squishy looking, like it was going to fall apart. I'm pleased with the results - they browned up beautifully without anything added and the flavour is pretty good. I wouldn't change anything in the recipe, other than maybe rolling out the dough out to a more thin rope and putting fewer on the baking sheet (mine were kind of like buns more than pretzels in shape). Overall, a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. The bigger the better! Perhaps a bit more flour could be used when making the dough. I also baked them for 3 minutes before boiling and this helped to maintain the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We started a new New Year's Eve tradition by making soft pretzels using this recipes. I wasn't prepared for the mess after the pretzels are in the water a little more direction would have been nice. They looked a little crazy but boy were they buttery and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States