Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe is very good. Yes it is difficult to handle the pretzels after they have risen because they're soft and gooey but that's what makes them perfect. They stay very soft even if left out overnight if you do it right. I did let the dough rest after kneading (for about 10 minutes) which I think makes them easier to roll out. When you roll them out make them very thin, they're going to about double in thickness. If you want a really authentic tasting pretzel using 2 T of lye in a quart of water is the correct dip. You have to be careful but my family has always made them that way and they're delicious. Keep an eye on them in the oven, I think 450 is probably closer to the temp you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaddieB
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I gave this a 4 because they tasted good. However, they did not come out like pretzels should look. Look kind of flat and deflated. Not sure what I did wrong. I followed the instructions. Any help out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Didn't roll well , cooked for longer but still hadn't cooked through and were dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Pretzels turned out really good. Not chewy or doughy at all. I did put more water in to boil with baking soda, it seemed like it would not be enough water then adjusted the baking soda amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very simple recipe. Substituted vegetable oil for the butter. Simply delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Holschuh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Pretty tasty! I skipped the boiling step for most of them. I worked in a mall pretzel place years ago and so I did what I learned there instead - give them a quick dip in room temp. baking soda water. (fill a baking dish or large bowl 1/2 full of water and add baking soda until very slightly cloudy. Lift a pretzel using two hands "hooking" it through holes with your fingers, give it a dip in the water, then shake off the excess water and put on cookie sheet). Also, I let the dough rise BEFORE forming the pretzels instead of after. They looked and tasted great!! (I did try one pretzel with the boiling method but it came out chewy and a tiny bit soggy.) Also, when you are shaping the pretzels make sure to tuck the bottoms under and give them a pinch so they don't come loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Easy and delicious! I baked mine for an additional 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made these for the first time ever and I will never waste my money on mall pretzels again. very easy and fun to make. My kids and husband loved them. The dough was a little tough to knead and it did not rise as much as it should have but they were still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These were delicious. Let the dough rise as a large ball instead of individual pretzels. Reduced the oven temperature to 350 for 12 minutes. Sprinkled with kosher salt before cooking, then brushed with melted butter after cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made these, and it was my first time baking pretzels. Followed the recipe to the t, and they turned out perfect! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States