Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I added half a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and then sprinkled brown sugar on top instead of salt. They made a great dessert/snack and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were great!!!! The dough was perfect....easy to roll into as thick or thin a rope as you want, very strechy and pliable. I'm a baking newbie so I wasn't sure about refrigerating the dough. Would it rise? Yes it did! I did boil the pretzels in water, baking soda and half a bottle of beer for about 20-30 seconds and placed them on the baking sheet. Then I basted in melted butter (I used the egg wash and butter methods...didnt really notice a difference as far as outer color/crunch between the two, so stuck with butter for the flavor) then sprinkled kosher salt, garlic powder on top. Finally, baked at 400 for only 13 minutes since the boiling water bath seemed to jump-start the cooking process. P.S. I cut the recipe in half and got about 18-20 medium sized pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe made great pretzels...a whole lot of them...however it was quite a process to make them and I never did get the shape right. I fully recommend boiling them in the baking soda/water. It really helps with the outer color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I used Brown sugar and also did the baking soda wash. They came out perfect. Great recipe! Also dipped a few in beer batter and put in the fryer and received rave reviews on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These were very very good! Followed the recipe as written and followed the advice of others to drop in boiling water with baking soda for 15 seconds. They came out perfect! I made these into hamburger buns and got rave reviews. A word of caution... they are very addicting, you can't just stop at one! Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is a terrific recipe! But I don't make pretzels with it. I use this dough to make stuffed pockets. I have used pizza fixings, and ground beef, onions and cheese. It is GREAT! I still use the egg wash and sprinkle the salt. same cook time. I brown ground beef and italian sausage, but veggies cook in pretzel. make up your favorite! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My 18 year old son wanted soft pretzels -- I found this recipe for him and he made them -- twice! Delicious both times and he didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntCuKoo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Gorgeous! I only cut the dough into 16 pieces, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Yummy Fluffy Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntCuKoo
Home Town: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rosenberg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
We love making this recipe. Our 3 year old daughter asks to help make them. They are delicious and oh so much better than the ones you can get at the mall. We make the whole recipe and freeze them, but they never last too long in our household. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yummm i made these and they are TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrylou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States