Soft Polenta with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Delicious!! I was attempting to recreate a dish we had at a restaurant, and this was very close. I followed the suggestion of using fresh tomatoes, which I quartered and put in the food processor for a several pulses until it was the consistency of stewed tomatoes. I also added chopped red peppers and replaced the sherry with 3T of balsamic vinegar. This will be my "go to" dish when friends come over for dinner on the deck in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARIKAY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this for my "foodie" friends, and it was a great hit! The tomato sauce was even better the next night when I heated up the leftover polenta and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lynn Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Be sure to have bread on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I was desperately looking for something new to use some of the overabundance of roma tomatoes from the garden. Used about 5 peeled and whole romas (for 2 servings) and balsamic vinegar instead of sherry. A keeper recipe with or without the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a good alternative to pasta. I'm giving it three stars because there was nothing wrong with it, but it wasn't spectacular either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a good recipe and has been a favorite of ours for a while. It comes from Didi Emmons's cookbook "Vegetarian Planet." If you like this recipe you should buy the book, there's a lot of good recipes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewshootingstar
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I didn't have mushrooms, red pepper flakes or sherry. So I substituted the 1/2t pepper flakes for 1/2t cayenne pepper and the 1/4c sherry for 1/4c white balsamic vinegar. I added an extra 1/2t oregano and omitted the green onions. It turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipe was delicious!!! I loved the quinoa in the polenta, and the tomato sauce was quite tasty. I didn't use as much onion as was called for, but otherwise followed the recipe. Looking forward to having this again--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Never made polenta before, but this came out like cornmeal soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very good. I had to cook the polenta a little longer to get the consistency that I wanted but it was "lick you plate clean" good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States