Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
These were easy & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I haven't tried these as onion rolls, but I make them all the time without adding the onion ingredients and they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzieslittleliah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These are absolutely amazing! I did add about 1/2 cup of sauteed onions like other viewers suggested, but I also added the 3 Tbsps dried onion to it as well, and increased the onion powder to 1 Tbsp. (We like them oniony.) I didn't put the onions on top. I made them with pulled pork and coleslaw and brought it all on a camping trip with friends. They all loved them so much! Thank you Claudygirl for an easy and wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sauquoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is so good! We've been blessed with a bounty of tomatoes this year, but if I have to eat one more BLT or tomato sandwich on sandwich bread I will scream! I made these today and they are wonderful. Tasty, airy, the texture is just perfect. I didn't have any minced onions so I did as others did and fried up some vadalia onion on my own and added some to the mixture and some to the top. I can't wait for hubby to come home to these! I will for sure be making these over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Awesome! Like other reviews, I fried 1/2 medium white onion in about 1 TB of olive oil, let cool and incorporated it with the other ingredients in my bread machine. We ate these with tuna salad, yum! Thanks for the recipe, it's better than store bought onion rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Made recipe with no changes (using bread machine). EXCELLENT. Makes a great burger bun or really to die for with the Wildfire Sausage meatballs recipe on this site. A little swiss cheese and BBQ sauce....mmmmm...heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made these rolls as the original poster suggested using 1/4 cup dried onions in the dough and 2 1/2 t. yeast (bread machine). I also used dried milk and did not brush the rolls with egg white nor did I top them with additional dried onions as I thought the onion flavor was sufficient. They were very soft and a nice change to plain rolls for burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is the best recipe for rolls I have ever made!! Extremely versatile, I have made, onion rolls, hamburger garlic rolls (using l teas. garlic or more to your liking), plain dinner rolls, and today I made 2 loaves of wheat bread. I replaced 1/2c. flour and used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Bake 350 for 25 to 30 min. Next time I bake, I will try 1 cup whole wheat flour. Also, I took another reviewer advice, and I do not use milk, just 1 cup of water. I just love this recipe!! Thank you so much for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by creole mama
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
These turned out good ! I also added 1/4 cup of onion to the dough for more flavor . Turned out like the kind you get at the bakery . These are great with chicken salad .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creole mama

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States