Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These were to die for, absolutely delicious. The only thing I would change would be to soak the dried onion that goes on top before baking a little. The onions were very crunchy and flaked off, but still DELICIOUS!! Will never buy onion rolls at the market again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent! They stay nice and soft, but are oh so yummy. I'd give it five, but personal preference makes me want to dump even more onion in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Mmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I'm so proud of myself - these rolls looked & tasted great! Only change was used fresh onion instead of minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
4 stars as written with the onion-I made them last week for pulled pork sandwiches, but I just made a batch of these with no onion and 1/2 whole wheat flour-I made 15 balls and baked them in a round skillet after brushing with a little olive oil and they are the best dinner rolls I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These were wonderfully soft and delicious. I do not think they were overly onion flavored and they were great for sandwiches! The whole family, including my kids, loved them! Made as is except used sauteed onions, I put all of them inside the dough. I topped some with sesame seeds and some with poppy seeds. My husband couldn't believe I made them and they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Definitely a solid 5 star recipe. We loved these rolls. They taste great, and they have a nice soft texture. I am out of butter so I subbed margerine, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. When I saw how nice the dough turned out, I knew these would be winners. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
We are onion roll lovers and we thought these were AWESOME! Made them exactly as written, except formed into 6 rolls instead of 8 to use as hamburger buns, which was the perfect size for us. Also, I topped mine with toasted dried onions and poppyseeds before scoring the tops with a knife (just for looks, lol). They were perfect in every way...I will definately be making these again, and OFTEN! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yum! Super easy & worth every bit of (little) effort involved! Even the shaping step was simple and I'm not a baker per se (which is the reason I waited so long to try these...). Made these to serve w/ slow cooker French dips (lonwolf32). I'm used to French dips on crusty bread, but as it turns out, onion rolls are an excellent substitue! I pretty much followed claudygirl's directions to the letter except for 3 (minor) changes. Not wanting tough rolls, I used all H2O. I also flash fried 1/4 c. of fresh, finely choped onion instead of using the dried minced variety in my topping mixture (I added dried onion to my dough, but didn't have enough left for the topping also). Finally, I added about an 1/8 c. of poppyseeds to my topping. The popular St. Rosen's brand onion rolls include poppyseeds in theirs, so I decided to do the same! :) NOTE: This recipe yeilds 1 lb. worth of dough. My bread machine users manual includes several recipes, one of which is an rye onion roll recipe. The 8 roll yeild instructs to chose the 1 lb. loaf setting. Additionally, your liquid should be no cooler than 98 degrees F & no warmer than 105 F to be considered "lukewarm." Oh, and be SURE to increase the amount of yeast to 2.5 t as claudy's top review suggests. Doing so will yield a batch of perfectly risen rolls! I'm SOOOO glad to have given these a try. These were FANTASTIC fresh & just as good the next day! This recipe will be added to my keeper file for sure. Thanks for sharing, claudygirl! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This are dense top notch rolls with an intense, melt-in-your-mouth onion kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States