Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Although I don't have a bread machine, these rolls turned out great! I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer and made them (somewhat) the old fashioned way. I did not have dried onion flakes, which, in the end I was actually happy about, because I finely diced a fresh onion and then fried in a pan until very brown. The rolls tasted bakery fresh Claudy and we were all very happy! Thanks so much for a weeks worth of lunch sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Hi Everyone, I'm Claudygirl. First, a reminder to use 2.5 teaspoons of yeast, not a package that has 2.25. Some have complained that they didn't rise well, but the recipe was changed after I submitted it. And, thank you for all the great reviews. 7?3?11: Once again, I'm updating the review of my own recipe. No, using fresh, diced and sauteed onions doesn't work for me. Bakeries have long used dehydrated onions in baking for a reason and my recent results have proved why. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Excellent rolls. They are a dense bread, but very taste. I would make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I made them to go with BBQ beef. So good!! Even my picky kids ate them. My husband asked me to make more for his lunch sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
For whatever reason, my dough didn't rise, and I ended up tossing out the dough and starting from scratch, but my second batch didn't really rise much either. I shrugged my shoulders and popped the rolls in the oven anyway, and they ended up puffing up nicely while cooking. So despite all my worries, they turned out perfectly! I didn't have any dried minced onion, so I put fresh minced onion inside the dough. I flash-fried some more fresh minced onion in very hot oil for a few seconds until it was golden and put this on top of the rolls before baking. The flash-fried onions were a flavorful addition. Great recipe! We had BBQ beef sandwiches on these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I made these without the onion flavoring and they were excellent with pulled bbq pork. I didn't let them rise for 40 minutes, it was more like 15 because I didn't have time, but they were so good. Not too thick or thin. Apparently people are having different experiences with it, so it's not for me to say how yours will turn out, but I had a good experience and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I Recommend these. Nice and soft rolls. I don't have a bread machine, so I made them the traditional way. Also, when i let the dough rest, I noticed the melted butter I had forgotten to add in. :-) And they were just fine. I will add it next time, just for the fact that fats help prolong the shelf life of breads. Thanks I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
After reading the reviews I was a little worried they wouldn't turn out, I'm not the best baker, but these turned out great and my hubby even took some to work and bragged about his wifes cooking. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Mine didn't turn out too well... very dense, but the flavor was delicious. I am a beginner at making bread, so I'm assuming it was me:) I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The first time I made these I only let them rise once, which I didn't realize that at the time. They came out only about 1/2" thick. But I served them thinking that's how they were supposed to be. My husband loved it. I have made them several times now and continue to let them rise once. I also leave out the onion ingredients. They tasted awesome the next day toasted with butter too, like an english muffin. My husband insists they be the sandwich bread & hamburger bun of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States