Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
These are easy to make, tender crust and soft inside. I omitted the onions and potato flakes and added in 3 tbsp of honey. Afterwards, I brushed the tops with melted butter. I don't have a breadmaker and this was my first time baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Both my husband and I loved these rolls. I made them for grilled chicken sanwiches and then we ended up finishing them off just the rolls later in the evening. So good and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good! They tasted a little like an onion bagel in bun form. I think next time I'll let them rise a little longer to make sure they're a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Made these for grilled hamburgers, and they were very tasty. My family really enjoyed them, and they were perfect for the burgers--nice & soft exterior and good texture inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
To say these are easy to make would be an understatement. They are extremely easy. I made these without the onion ingredients and we used them to make pulled pork sandwiches (Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ from this site). Everyone liked it. The kids also liked to eat the rolls plain. The time to fix/cook these was right on. A definite keeper! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
these are a little too bready for us as sandwich rolls, but they're still good. i use the recipe to make a loaf in my oven--FANTASTIC! its perfect for sandwich bread! i've been searching for a recipe like this forever! used my bread machine to make the dough and then punched down, loosely rolled up jelly-roll style and let rise about 45 min in a loaf pan. when making rolls, i scaled the recipe up to 12 buns and thats as much as my bread machine will hold as it rises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Fantastic! I wouldn't changa a thing. it makes the BEST hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carley
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made these to go with 'BBQ Pork for Sandwiches' from this site & they were great. Sort of dense, but it worked with this recipe. They had a great taste & soaked up the juice well. My husband love onion & liked the rolls as well. I followed the recipe exactly, but left out a bit of the onion powder. I also did mine the old fashioned way...not in a bread maker. Which made the first rise time about 1 hour, covered in a warm place. Good sandwich roll recipe, thanks! ~I also increased the yeast to 2 1/2t yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I forgot to buy buns before company arrived. Had Italian beef (from this site) on the weekend menu. I whipped up these rolls without a bread machine and they were the PERFECT compliment to the beef. Next time, I'll slice 'em, butter 'em and broil/toast/grill them just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
GREAT GREAT GREAT! My husband is one of those men who when you think something taste awsome he just replies "it's good". Well with this one he said WOW YOU made THIS?!!!!!!! It's REALLYYYY good." I myself would use less salt next time maybe omit the 1/2 tsp. Also a helpfull hint,....make sure egg white is room temperature so the coldness doesn't deflate your rolls on contact and make sure to lightly spray cookie sheet w/ cooking spray. Also I sprinkle garlic powder on top along w/ the onion bits. These make great rolls for a egg sandwhich! P.S. My 5 year old daughter HATES onions,.... well I didn't tell her what was in and on top because she didn't ask,... and needless to say she even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginny
Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States