Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I want to start by saying the only reason I'm not giving this a 5 is because I tweaked it; I was very very happy with the basic recipe and made exactly the soft rolls I was looking for! I needed a soft submarine roll without herbs, oats, or a crust and this was perfect. I reduced the sugar to 2 Tbsp. since I didn't want it too sweet and reduced the salt to 1 tsp. since I used salted butter. I also removed all the onion items for a plain flavor and attempted to make them into roll shapes, with medium success. These rolls were chewy, soft, filling, and very easy to make. Next time I'll double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
These are easy to make, tender crust and soft inside. I omitted the onions and potato flakes and added in 3 tbsp of honey. Afterwards, I brushed the tops with melted butter. I don't have a breadmaker and this was my first time baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Both my husband and I loved these rolls. I made them for grilled chicken sanwiches and then we ended up finishing them off just the rolls later in the evening. So good and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good! They tasted a little like an onion bagel in bun form. I think next time I'll let them rise a little longer to make sure they're a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Made these for grilled hamburgers, and they were very tasty. My family really enjoyed them, and they were perfect for the burgers--nice & soft exterior and good texture inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
To say these are easy to make would be an understatement. They are extremely easy. I made these without the onion ingredients and we used them to make pulled pork sandwiches (Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ from this site). Everyone liked it. The kids also liked to eat the rolls plain. The time to fix/cook these was right on. A definite keeper! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
these are a little too bready for us as sandwich rolls, but they're still good. i use the recipe to make a loaf in my oven--FANTASTIC! its perfect for sandwich bread! i've been searching for a recipe like this forever! used my bread machine to make the dough and then punched down, loosely rolled up jelly-roll style and let rise about 45 min in a loaf pan. when making rolls, i scaled the recipe up to 12 buns and thats as much as my bread machine will hold as it rises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Fantastic! I wouldn't changa a thing. it makes the BEST hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carley
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made these to go with 'BBQ Pork for Sandwiches' from this site & they were great. Sort of dense, but it worked with this recipe. They had a great taste & soaked up the juice well. My husband love onion & liked the rolls as well. I followed the recipe exactly, but left out a bit of the onion powder. I also did mine the old fashioned way...not in a bread maker. Which made the first rise time about 1 hour, covered in a warm place. Good sandwich roll recipe, thanks! ~I also increased the yeast to 2 1/2t yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I forgot to buy buns before company arrived. Had Italian beef (from this site) on the weekend menu. I whipped up these rolls without a bread machine and they were the PERFECT compliment to the beef. Next time, I'll slice 'em, butter 'em and broil/toast/grill them just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States