Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Great! I have made them as onion rolls and plain rolls. They turn out to be wonderful. Soft, light, and flavorful. The only difference is I let them rise a total of three times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
wonderful. I ran out of dehydrated onions. I had used them up making onion garlic bagels. I did have dried chives so I said what the heck. Can't hurt. Came out really nice with a subtle flavor of chives. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were the softest, best rolls I've ever tried. Hands down better than anything you can buy at the grocery store. I didn't include the onion on top because my son wouldn't like it (he didn't like the onion inside either, so I will be making these again plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very easy to make and pretty good too. Made Shrimp po'boys with these - not authentic, but they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Good recipe but it does need some tweeking. Good for a starter and then you have to experiment to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These rolls are fantastic! Like others, I didn't have a bread machine-- I started with the warm milk and water, added the yeast and mixed. Then added all the other ingredients and mixed in my KitchenAid on 2 for about 8 minutes. (I left out the onion powder, added sauteed chopped onions on the tops of half of them before baking) I let the dough rise in a slightly warm oven for 1 hour, then continued with step 2. They took slightly longer to bake for me to get golden, as I use stoneware pans. About 30 minutes. But they were "better than store bought!" according to my 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe several times, excellent every time! To make delicious dinner rolls, omit the onion powder and minced onion, (I skip the hand-kneading step)form the dough into rolls (about 1/3 cup each), cover with damp dish towel, put into oven with a bowl of hot water until double. After cooking, rub tops with butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love this basic recipe. I did not make it with the onion though. The first time I used sweet potato flakes and bread flour. I made it again a few days later with roasted garlic potato flakes with bread flour. Each time they came out light and WONDERFUL. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I made them for pulled pork sandwiches and it made a simple sandwich much more special. I didn't have dried onion so I sauteed 1/2 a Walla Walla sweet onion and mixed most of that in- reserving about 1/4 cup for the tops of the rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I don't have a bread machine. I did these with an electric mixer and the hook attachment. Good flavor, but after a day, they got really dense and they weren't any good for sandwiches anymore. I forgot to put the potato flakes in and I added them after the first rise. Maybe that's why they were dense the next day. I will try them again, and maybe use garlic instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States