Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yum! Super easy & worth every bit of (little) effort involved! Even the shaping step was simple and I'm not a baker per se (which is the reason I waited so long to try these...). Made these to serve w/ slow cooker French dips (lonwolf32). I'm used to French dips on crusty bread, but as it turns out, onion rolls are an excellent substitue! I pretty much followed claudygirl's directions to the letter except for 3 (minor) changes. Not wanting tough rolls, I used all H2O. I also flash fried 1/4 c. of fresh, finely choped onion instead of using the dried minced variety in my topping mixture (I added dried onion to my dough, but didn't have enough left for the topping also). Finally, I added about an 1/8 c. of poppyseeds to my topping. The popular St. Rosen's brand onion rolls include poppyseeds in theirs, so I decided to do the same! :) NOTE: This recipe yeilds 1 lb. worth of dough. My bread machine users manual includes several recipes, one of which is an rye onion roll recipe. The 8 roll yeild instructs to chose the 1 lb. loaf setting. Additionally, your liquid should be no cooler than 98 degrees F & no warmer than 105 F to be considered "lukewarm." Oh, and be SURE to increase the amount of yeast to 2.5 t as claudy's top review suggests. Doing so will yield a batch of perfectly risen rolls! I'm SOOOO glad to have given these a try. These were FANTASTIC fresh & just as good the next day! This recipe will be added to my keeper file for sure. Thanks for sharing, claudygirl! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This are dense top notch rolls with an intense, melt-in-your-mouth onion kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Soft with mild onion flavor, and I surely would NOT consider them "dense." Everyone likes them, and we made Southern Pulled Pork sandwiches -- wonderful! I used 1 pkt + 1/4 tsp yeast (as per Claudygirl, recipe's creator) and baked 13 minutes. I had to add about 4 Tablespoons of water while mixing, as the dough was very dry. Dough had a nice feel to it when kneading. MUCH better sandwich rolls than many of the others on the site. Flavor is good, without overpowering what's inside. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
easy and good! we didn't think the onion was too overpowering: my son finished it off this morning with chocolate hazelnut spread... if I may suggest anything, it's to add some little more milk while the machine is making the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have made this several times now and the rolls are awesome. I make a half batch (4 rolls) formed round and baked in a 9 inch cake pan...the pan helps keep the rolls soft. I like poppy seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I'd make these again. They were pretty tasty. I didn't have dried onion, so used equal measurement of Lipton's onion soup mix. Cut back a bit on salt and onion powder as it was already in the soup mix. I bet these would make a great roast beef sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are fantastik! I, too, had no potato flakes and substituted oatmeal. These have a great bread flavor and texture, SOOOOO much better than those 'puffs of air' hamburger buns. Made exactly as directed, except for the oatmeal sub. Will definately make these again for chicken salad sandwiches and burgers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These are very very easy to make. They turn out perfect everytime. I make with and without onions as some of my kids dont like onion.Non onion rolls get cheddar and jack cheese, sometimes spicy jack, just depends what I have on hand. Always a winner with these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Made with 1 c water, which was too much. I would knock it down next time, so as not to have to add more flour. Used 1 T onion powder and 1/2 pan sauteed onion. Didn't have any potato flakes, so used oats as others did. Didn't have any problems. Also used 2.5 t yeast, although next time I will use 1 T, as rolls didn't raise that much. Made eight rolls slightly smaller than hamburger buns. Nice dense texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Sorry, but I did not like these. The flavor wasn't 'wow' and the texture was a bit too dense for me - I did use 2 1/2 tsp of yeast. I make fresh bread every day, so I'm not a novice. The dough seemed good mixing it up, but not happy with the end result. (I used fresh onion and sauteed it like others.) I think I'll try adding onion to one of our other recipes to create an onion bread for my husband who has been asking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States