Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These were great. I did brush the rolls with the egg wash before letting them rise the second time and put the extra dried onion on top after soaking in a bit of water. I find that they didn't burn. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Awesome bread! Our friends thought it came from the store! I made it into a loaf and it turned out great. Tweek on the amount of onion ingredients to your liking as it is 'oniony.' Perfect as is for my taste though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made these rolls the other day. I had a bit of trouble getting the dough to stick together. I had to add about 3 Tbsp more water to the dough, but then they turned out great! I also added real fried onion to the tops with some cheese when I baked them, and I made them with soy milk instead of regular milk. Me and my husband ate them as sandwiche buns and also for chicken burgers. Mmmm Mmmm! The dough also seamed a little stiff when I shaped them, but they still turned out great! So, don't let that scare you off. Give these a try! They are simple and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Great sandwich rolls! 2nd time I made these, I left out the onion ingredients and made regular dinner rolls. Both times rolls were delicious!! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out fabulous! They had a great appearance and a wonderful taste. I didn't have any trouble with them rising. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I couldnt get dried onions, so I used potato flakes with roasted onion. I had half a red onion to use up so I finely chopped it and fried it and sprinkled it on top along with some mature cheddar. These are very large rolls so I think I'll divide it in to 10 next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Our family loves these rolls! I usually brush the tops with melted butter instead of egg white since my oldest is allergic to eggs. Be sure to note that 2.5 tsp of yeast will cause the rolls to rise better than only one pkg, which only has 2.25 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The first time I made these I only let them rise once, which I didn't realize that at the time. They came out only about 1/2" thick. But I served them thinking that's how they were supposed to be. My husband loved it. I have made them several times now and continue to let them rise once. I also leave out the onion ingredients. They tasted awesome the next day toasted with butter too, like an english muffin. My husband insists they be the sandwich bread & hamburger bun of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Mine didn't turn out too well... very dense, but the flavor was delicious. I am a beginner at making bread, so I'm assuming it was me:) I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
After reading the reviews I was a little worried they wouldn't turn out, I'm not the best baker, but these turned out great and my hubby even took some to work and bragged about his wifes cooking. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States