Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I used old fashioned oats in this recipe, so I added six teaspoons of warm water to the wet mixture and then stirred in the oats and let it sit for about 20 mins before adding the dry ingredients. The cookies turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Excellent. Fast. Short on time, I had to skip the refrigeration and the ball and squish steps, they still came out great. Used 4 teaspoons of vanilla, can't help myself. I love that flavor. Sitting on the counter all day, still soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I added a 1/4 cup more of flour and didn't wait for dough to chill. I also used one stick of Imperial Brand margarine and one stick regular butter. I really think that made a significant difference in the softness of dough. It still turned out phenomenal and is most definitely the best oatmeal cookie recipe I've used. I'll be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Britney Logan Smith
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I've ever used for these cookies!! They need the full 10 minutes to bake and as soon as they came out of the oven I sprinkled them with a cinnamon and sugar mixture. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Originally I gave this recipe 4 stars because the first batch I made seemed to be lacking flavor. However, upon request I made it a second time, and it turned out much better somehow! I would strongly recommend adding raisins for added sweetness and a more interesting texture. Also, I subbed canola oil for half the butter and that worked fine. Instead of flattening the cookies with a fork, I just pressed them down a little with my finger - that way they were still super chewy, but cooked through. These truly are the ideal oatmeal cookie - nice taste (and you can go heavy on the spices. I even added a little nutmeg), and they bake perfectly. Would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
OMG, these are great, especially right out of the oven! The only thing I did was to add walnuts and semisweet chocolate chips. I live at high altitude (6,035 ft) and didn't even need to compensate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe!! Chilling the dough is a must and undercooking slightly results in a fantastic chewy moist cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I like adding craisins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowboyswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I didn't have any regular quick cooking oats on hand, but I did have a few boxes of instant oatmeal in the single serve packets (regular flavor of course). I used 9 packets which turn out to be roughly the 3 cups that the recipe calls for. Also I didn't flatten the cookies like a few reviewers suggested and they turned out great. The recipe said it would make 24 cookies but I had quite a bit of left over dough so I slapped some plastic wrap around the extra and froze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States