Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sylvia Soto
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Wow!!! Made this recipe as is adding raisins to half the dough and chocolate chips to the other half. All was great because none are left. This recipe is going in my box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Soto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
delicious as is! they've gotten rave reviews so far. when i was making them i was concerned it was too much sugar but they ended up not being overly sweet. I didn't press the cookies and just cooked them til the tops didn't look shiny and they were perfectly soft and chewy. I did add a little more cinnamon, but that's just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe and I think they were AMAZING!! BUT, I did add a few things and I agree with the other reviewers and added less salt (1/2 tsp). I did add 1 tsp of baking powder in addition to the baking soda, I also used the 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but then added 1/2 tsp of ground allspice,and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats instead of Quick Cooking and added 1 Cup chopped pecans. These cookies spread nicely, and then flattened out as they cooled. My oven runs a little cool, so I set the temp to 375 degrees F and left them in the oven until they were golden brown. That required baking them for 12-14 min. instead of the recommended 8-10. Finally the other thing I did a little differently was to use a 1 inch cookie/ice cream scoop. I cooked them on a sheet of parchment on the cookie sheet and it was not necessary to flatten them. They spread really nicely. While they were slightly warm, my husband an I ate a half dozen sitting there. They were warm and chewy. Later when they had fully cooled, they got a little more crisp, but still had some chew to them. My husband said they were the best oatmeal cookies he ever had. I highly recommend this recipe and I added it to the family recipe book we keep for ourselves online. This is the only recipe I will use from now on. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Good, chewy oatmeal cookie. Ten minutes was exactly perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Cookies baked perfectly but too sweet for me... I will bake them again with half the sugar. I bet they will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilsa Iris Cardec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe! As another reviewer did, I used a drop cookie method, rather than making balls. They had a nice spread, during baking, and we soft and moist. I also substituted butter-flavored shortening, for the butter. I also added 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup coconut. They enhanced the sweetness, just enough, and the coconut helped make them extra chewy and held them together, so they didn't crumble. Will add this recipe to my must use recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I have been looking for a soft oatmeal cookie for quite some time. These were a close as I've been to what I am looking for. They tasted a little more 'floury' than I would prefer, but I would definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Used old fashioned oats and still came out great but a bit heartier. Like others have said, adjust cooking time down for a moister cookie or up for more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Brownell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Turned out hard and crunchy (no matter when they were taken out of the oven). I didnt add the vanilla, instead a TON of cinnamon. I took the advice of others, I didnt press them down with sugar or grease the baking sheet (there was enough of both in the recipe!) Besides not being soft....they were actually really great!!! Will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Just the soft oatmeal cookie I've been looking for! I was in a hurry and skipped the refrigeration step, and the cookies still turned out great. Very good -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States