Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were fantastic, but NOT moist! First, you do not need to dip the fork in sugar when you press these cookies flat. They are sweet enough! Don't press the cookies flat if you don't like thin & crispy cookies. Leave them in little balls for thicker and more chewy cookies. Finally, I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts to the batter and then divided it into 3 bowls. In one, I added 1/3 cup of raisins, in another, 1/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and in the last one, I added 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and 1/4 cup of shredded coconut. They needed a full 10 minutes to bake and they were all DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2831 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This recipe makes a great cookie! You can tailor it to your liking: take them out a bit early for softer cookies, or bake them a little longer for a crisp cookie. I divided the dough and added raisins to one batch; chocolate chips to the second; and Craisins & white chocolate to the third, which were absolutely delicious! Of course, they were great without adding anything. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 tsp and added 1/2 tsp ground cloves which gave them an even better taste. Also, I didn't grease the pan, chill the dough, or flatten w/fork and they turned out just fine. Try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1676 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wow! I loved these cookies and they were super easy to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar. WW flour in place pf white flour and added raisins. I also took the advice of another eviewer and left them round instead of flattening them with a fork and the came out round, soft and perfect. I will make these again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
True to their name, these cookies were quite soft, and tasty too! I didn't find it necessary to refrigerate the dough, and rolling it into balls was too time-consuming. I just made your basic drop cookies using a spoon. I also tried flattening some using a fork dipped in sugar, but it really didn't make a difference. In my opinion, you can just skip that step. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These were great! the first time i made oatmeal cookies and a total success. i chose this recipe cos it said 'soft', which is what i wanted and they really are - lovely and moist, chewy and with v.good oatmeal flavour. changed a few things - added 1 1/2 cups raisins, so cut white sugar to 2/3 cup so they wouldn't be overly sweet. next time might try cutting to 1/2 cup cos i dont think the cookies need the extra sugar. also used margarine instead of butter. unfortunately realised that i didn't have enough cinnamon (only about 1 small teaspoon!) so next time i'll make sure i have the right amount. found this dough really easy to work with. had to knead the raisins in by hand cos it was too thick to stir, but that was ok. after chilling it rolled really easily into balls without being sticky! i baked the cookies on parchment paper, and made 30. baked for 8 minutes - they come out looking way too doughy, but give them 5 minutes and they firm up to perfection! tip - i found that these cookies do not spread and flatten much by themselves, so i'd advise anyone to flatten the balls a lot before putting them in the oven. i'll be making these again and again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe I've had yet. I can't put my finger on what separates this one from the rest, but the ingredients are the perfect combination for a great tasting cookie. Crispy on the edges and soft and chewy in the middle, with a perfect blend of spices. I can't wait to try them with raisins and various flavors of chips (chocolate, butterscotch, and cinnamon). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
The perfect oatmeal cookie. No rocket science here--simple to mix, simple to bake, great results. Bake longer for chewier, shorter time for softer cookies, add nuts or raisins if you like or just as is. Nice oatmeal flavor with just a hint of cinnamon and not overshadowed by a ton of spices. Just that simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
After reading other reviews I subtracted 1/2 cup of sugar, and I was sorry I did. They were still delicious, but next time I will use the full amount of sugar. The cookies even stayed soft for 4 days (that's when everyone finished them). Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Outrageously delicious! I cut the amount of oats to 2 cups to make them more chewy and thin + some chocolate chips for the Mrs. She doesn't usually have a sweet tooth for cookies 'n cakes, but these - I had to fight vigorously to get my share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vihti, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This has become a new favorite in our home! One of the only recipes I've ever tried that truly lives up to the soft cookie name. The flavor is just right, the cookie melts in your mouth, and they are easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States