Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Been making this for years always a hit, I do not put salt as I use salted butter, also I only put a pinch of cinnamon because I find its too much. (I don't like cinnamon though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Love this recipe! So easy and always perfect. I do half wheat and half regular flour. Add a tsp of baking powder. Use half quick oats and half regular oats. Sometimes chocolate chips or raisins. But even plain they are delicious. I flatten some (no added sugar needed in fork) and leave some in a ball so everybody gets to pick a cookie to their liking. Also, I use ice cream scoops to make it easy and mess free (awesome tip given to me when I was first making cookies and frustrated with having my fingers and hands sticky with dough while rolling them). And place parchment paper on cookie sheet so there is no need to grease it. In my oven, it takes about 12 to 13 minutes to bake, but I assume each oven is different. Totally recommended recipe! It yields about 3 dozen medium size cookies, or more if adding chocolate, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Like the recipe as is. Sometimes I add a couple dashes of nutmeg and allspice along with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe! Did not change any of the directions, is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
this is a really good recipe i did not dip my fork into sugar i did leave the mix in the freg for a hour and it still stuck to my hands i also add 1/2 teaspoons of apple pie spice into it i took the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon out and only put in apple did a 1 teaspoons of cinnamon in and it is really good i also add 1 cup of raisin in and it make a good holiday dessert i also did not spray the cookie sheet i put sliver foil and that was enough to keep it from sticking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Don't use 3 cups of oats! I used 2 and chilled overnight. I added 1.5 cups raisins. These turn out soft and stay moist for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia Soto
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Wow!!! Made this recipe as is adding raisins to half the dough and chocolate chips to the other half. All was great because none are left. This recipe is going in my box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Soto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
delicious as is! they've gotten rave reviews so far. when i was making them i was concerned it was too much sugar but they ended up not being overly sweet. I didn't press the cookies and just cooked them til the tops didn't look shiny and they were perfectly soft and chewy. I did add a little more cinnamon, but that's just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe and I think they were AMAZING!! BUT, I did add a few things and I agree with the other reviewers and added less salt (1/2 tsp). I did add 1 tsp of baking powder in addition to the baking soda, I also used the 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but then added 1/2 tsp of ground allspice,and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats instead of Quick Cooking and added 1 Cup chopped pecans. These cookies spread nicely, and then flattened out as they cooled. My oven runs a little cool, so I set the temp to 375 degrees F and left them in the oven until they were golden brown. That required baking them for 12-14 min. instead of the recommended 8-10. Finally the other thing I did a little differently was to use a 1 inch cookie/ice cream scoop. I cooked them on a sheet of parchment on the cookie sheet and it was not necessary to flatten them. They spread really nicely. While they were slightly warm, my husband an I ate a half dozen sitting there. They were warm and chewy. Later when they had fully cooled, they got a little more crisp, but still had some chew to them. My husband said they were the best oatmeal cookies he ever had. I highly recommend this recipe and I added it to the family recipe book we keep for ourselves online. This is the only recipe I will use from now on. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Bancroft Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Good, chewy oatmeal cookie. Ten minutes was exactly perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States