Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious!!! Made half with chocolate chips, and half with craison and white chocolate chips. Both turned out amazing! Followed the recipe exactly (the cinnamon is the secret ingredient!), except I just froze the dough in the freezer for 10 min while the oven was preheating, then used a cookie baller instead of pressing flat with a fork. Be sure to take the cookies out when they are just beginning to turn brown around the edges. Then let cool on the pan for 5 minutes before transferring. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolateLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I love oatmeal cookies, but hate raisins. Of course, you can't find plain oatmeal cookies usually, so I wanted to try to make them myself. I had been using whole wheat flour to make banana bread and figured I would use it to make the cookies. I accidentally only added 2 cups of oats vs. the 3 called for in the recipe. I definitely did not miss the 3rd cup of oats and actually think it would have dried the cookie out too much. They turned out perfect! I probably got about 3-4 dozen cookies by scooping a tablespoon of dough for each cookie. I did flatten them with a fork, but they don't flatten much more after baking for 8-9 min. Since the first batch, I have tried them several different ways by adding chocolate chips, shredded coconut, etc. They have been awesome each time! Even my picky 6 year old, who oddly doesn't usually like cookies, loved them. I did try this recipe with regular flour, but the cookies turned out terrible. They were too flat and thin. I didn't even bother cooking the whole batch and actually threw them all away. I will definitely not make this recipe with regular flour again, as the taste just wasn't good and doesn't compare to the whole wheat cookies. I gave a 4 just because the regular flour does not work for me, but a 5 with the small alterations I made. I didn't realize what a difference the whole wheat flour would make. I'm glad my first batch was with the whole wheat flour, otherwise I wouldn't have made these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
These are the best oatmeal cookies EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I really liked this! I would reduce the sugar next time I like to think these cookies are healthier then regular cho. Chip cookies but they were really sweet. I did split the batter are made one batch cho chips and walnuts and the other craisins and coconut extract. They were really tasty i cookies them for 11 mins. And i also used a cookie scoop because i really dislike flat cookies. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Turned out amazingly well, I made it just like the recipe for half the batch and added chocolate chip morsels to the other half. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good! I didn't refrigerate or flatten and they came out great! Nice and chewy and flavorful - I really like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Tried this recipe as instructed. They were delicious and soft. After just cooled placed them in ziplocks. Loved them!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I loved these. I didn't have brown sugar so I used all white. My batter was really dry so I added applesauce and some milk until it was a moist batter. (2 tbs of each) I added 1/4 cup of coconut. Amazing! I don't like oatmeal cookies normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieM
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made the recipe as stated, but added 1 cup of chocolate chips (mix of Nestle dark chocolate and milk chocolate chips) and used old fashioned oats instead if quick cooking oats (that's all I had). Also, I didn't flatten the cookies with a fork and baked at 350 degrees for 10 min. 375 seemed too high for the chocolate chips I added. They turned out great! Soft on the inside and really "oat-y". If you love oatmeal, you'll love these cookies. Maybe the oatmeal flavor and texture was intensified by the use of old-fashioned oats, but they were terrific and went quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great taste and texture! They just did not look pretty... I will try this recipe again! Probably my fault, I rolled the entire cookie in sugar, then pressed with fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States