Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tanya
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Wonderful!!! I made these yesterday to serve hamburgers on. I did not need twelve of them so I made a half recipe. I only got 4 out of it. While making the half recipe in the bread machine the dough sucked the paddle of the bottom, so I took the dough and and let it finish rising. I thought the dough seemed a little stiff. So I got scared and started another batch. I decided to try a full recipe but had to use mostly wheat flour.( I did add more gluten) The full recipe made about 7 rolls. I think you would only get 12 if you made dinner rolls/sliders. The funny thing is that both attempts came out fantastic!!! I thought I was going to have to freeze some... but nope.My 4 yr old ate 2 yesterday. I also made a sandwich for lunch yesterday with one and plan on doing that again today.I will be making these again and soon because they are almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
03/16 AWESOME! they really live up to their name! I am eating one right now with strawberry jam. I used whole milk for water and brushed the rolls with butter when removed from the oven. Delicious! 03/22 I made the buns again today, used 1/2 ww and 1/2 ap flour, 1 tbsp vital gluten, my husband said these were even better! use 3 oz balls by weight for buns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I attempted to follow the recipe exactly, but my bread machine decided to slip a belt halfway through the knead cycle. I finished kneading by hand and let the dough rise in a greased, covered bowl for about an hour before following the rest of the directions. I did use an egg wash as I wanted to add sesame seeds to half the buns. These are exactly what they claim to be: Soft-N-Fluffy! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made these using my stand mixer by proofing the yeast in the warm water with just 1 tbs. of sugar then adding the oil. I added the flour (1/2 AP, 1/2 WW) mixed with the vital wheat gluten and salt 1 cup at a time and used about 3 1/4 cups to get a lovely soft dough. I got 10 nice size rolls. This is a keeper thanks WFDM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great recipe the only change I would make is to cut down the amount of sugar. Rolls had a sweet taste which I don't really want on my hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have never used wheat gluten with white flour before, this made for a very light texture. I used 2 1/2 cups of flour and made 8 hamburger size buns. But they were too sweet to eat with burgers. I will toast them with plain cinnamon or use them to make bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made these by the recipe, they came out perfectly. It made 16 buns. I make rolls all the time, and my family said these are the best I've ever made. So thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
First recipe I am reviewing! These were AWESOME! Light and fluffy as they claim to be. I rolled out the dough and used a peanut butter jar lid to cut them out at about 3/4 inch thickness. PERFECT! Got 12 buns out if it. Tried to roll as directed but just couldn't make them look good- need more practice I think! LOL Will make these again. I did not use all the sugar but only used 1 tablespoon. Going to make for Memorial Day cookout now I had a trial run of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by short order cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Editor's Note: The sugar ingredient in this recipe was edited and now correctly reads 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These were very good. pretty close to what you find in the store. I thought they were just a little too sweet, but other than that they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States