Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made these buns today but had to use all purpose flour as I was out of bread flour. They turned out great and tasted great warmed with butter. I am looking forward to serving them to my family with sloppy joe's tonight. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My buns never came close to what your's look like in the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These are the best buns I have ever made. I made them exactly as written and they've always come out perfect! This is the only bun recipe I use now...thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These are soft and fluffy and delightful! I don't have a bread machine, so made them by hand, and they turn out beautifully! I've tried a lot of recipes for buns and these have been the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I just took this out of the oven. I wish I would have doubled the recipe. I made bread, next time rolls and bread. I used White Whole Wheat flour and 2 tsp VWG. It only took about 2 1/2 c. flour. Very light. Thanks WFDM! I'll make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was exactly what I waslooking for. Soft and tender. I didneed to make mine quite a bit larger for the size burgers I like. I made 8 insteadof 12, and next time I'llmake 6. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I have made these twice - the first time following the recipe exactly as written and directed and the second time making a few changes. If you're looking for a very soft hamburger bun, closer to the kind you get at the store, these are good but as was reviewed by others, it will have a tough time holding together something juicy - as did mine the first time I baked and used for burgers. They would make a great bun for a sandwich and the especially the kids would love this recipe as it's alot like store buns - which is one reason I didn't rate higher above average. The reason I bake is because I don't want store bought taste, but if you like that, then these buns are great. These would make an excellent dinner roll too. The other reason for the average rating is the ingredient Vital Wheat Gluten. This ingredient is not at all necessary in this recipe and is mainly used to lighten texture in whole grains or heavy wheat breads, so I left it out the second time around. Instead, I added a beaten egg white (use a wire wisk, beat until foamy). It added a great texture. I also used butter instead of the oil and slightly warmed milk instead of the water. Made the buns richer in flavor. Also, I used instant yeast and didn't have to pre activate the yeast, I just tossed it all in my kitchen aid, gave it a rise, shape and rise.. then baked at 400 degrees for 12 minutes in order to achieve better color. BTW, using instant yeast gives a much nicer rise. Posted a couple pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These have worked well for us for hamburgers and paninis. We get about eight decent-sized buns out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chdoctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I made as written and I couldn't believe how light they were.Texture was just what I was looking for and they held up to the big burgers my husband prefers. Will make this my go-to recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Sorry, the crumb on these buns was not substantial and they fell apart under a juicy burger with toppings. Might be ok for a slider or a hot dog, but not if you want a burger with all the fixings. The juiciness kind of melted the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States