Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I always use bread flour for my breads and do not add the gluten. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were great. I have made them a few times now, exactly as written. They work great for us for meatball sandwiches and did not fall apart. I get about 8 sub buns or 24 small rolls depending on how I divide my dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The name says it all. I did add a bit more sugar and salt according to our preference, but then followed the recipe exactly after that. I thought they held up to a burger fine. They did wrinkle a little after cooling, but I will try steaming them before serving again. I realize "What's for Dinner, mom?" put a lot of effort and care into this one. My family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Just to let you know how much like store bought buns these were--my kids ate them thinking they were regular hamburger buns I'd bought at the store. I doubled the recipe and I have to admit I made them too big--they were giant buns. I got 6 big buns out of each batch and two smaller ones. I had two pans (6 each) that I brushed with egg white and water, sprinkled with sesame seeds, then baked as directed. They never browned one bit, but they were definitely done. The last four I baked at the temperature I normally use for homemade rolls--425°--and they browned very nicely. When my kids saw the last four, they remarked, "Mom! You made homemade rolls!" I told them they had already been eating homemade rolls (the non browned ones) and that's when they finally noticed they weren't store bought. We used them for sloppy joes, and they held up fine. They were soft and kind of bland, but...so are store bought. I make whole wheat bread and other kinds of bread weekly, and found these to be easy to work with without a bread machine. I used gluten because I had some, but I don't know if it was needed. I may add some whole wheat flour next time. I'll definitely make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I just made these and they turned out great! I did the egg wash and put sesame seeds on them. I needed to leave them about 20 minutes for 8 buns in the oven to get that golden color. I have no idea how to shape them correctly though and I forgot to flatten them a bit before letting them rise so mine are more like big rolls/buns but they will work great for burgers tonight. I can't wait to try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The recipe is great, the buns tasted great, but my shaping skills are not so great! I followed the recipe as written to use as mini buns to go along with 'Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast' another AR recipe. The buns had a really nice texture to them; I just need to work on making them look like buns and not rolls. I will be trying this recipe again soon as we really like the taste, but I think I will try larger buns and see if I can shape them better. Thanks, What's for dinner, mom? for always helping me with my bun questions. You've helped me on several occasions. Someday, I'll get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wow- these are terrific!!! I did not have vital wheat gluten, nor have I been able to find it yet, so I simply omitted it, and these still turned out great. The dough is very easy to work with, which is always a plus. I got 10 beautiful hamburger rolls out of this recipe. Thanks for sharing WFDM- I will be making these a lot!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Oh, these are so, so good, and very user-friendly. They smelled so wonderful coming out of the oven, we broke one open and had it with butter right away. Just couldn't wait for dinner. At first I thought the dough was going to be too sticky to work with, but using "What's for Dinner, Mom"s tip about oiling the work surface produced a very easy-to-work-with dough ball. I got 12 very nice-sized rolls. Was gonna share 'em with a neighbor, but mmmmmmaybe next time!!! Thanks, WFDM for the recipe and the great tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great recipe for soft burger buns! I've used the formula as-is, but divide into 8 rolls, that are the perfect size for regular 1/4 - 1/3 lb patties. 3 cups of flour = 14.5 oz of flour on my scale, and that works out to be the right consistency dough. You can also brush the tops with melted butter before or after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These made fabulous buns - but I didn't get 12 buns - I got 8. (maybe we like slightly larger buns than average? I use SAF yeast, so I just used 2 tsp. instead of the 2-1/4 or 2-1/2 that most recipes call for. We like them for making sandwiches, so I make them to fit sandwich meat) One of the other reviewers commented that she brushed them with melted butter upon removing from oven, to keep the tops nice and soft - and this did make a great difference - and now I brush ALL of my breads and buns with melted butter when they come out of the oven - it really makes a fantastic difference and end result is such a nice tender crust! Also, if you're thinking of skipping the parchment paper - DON'T! It makes for a BEAUTIFULLY soft-textured bottom, makes it so easy to slip the buns off the pan onto cooling rack, very much worth the extra (small) expense. I use each piece of parchment paper at least 2 or 3 times, so that helps. Once you use them a few times they seem to lose the non-stick quality, so then it's time for a new piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States