Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tanya
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Wonderful!!! I made these yesterday to serve hamburgers on. I did not need twelve of them so I made a half recipe. I only got 4 out of it. While making the half recipe in the bread machine the dough sucked the paddle of the bottom, so I took the dough and and let it finish rising. I thought the dough seemed a little stiff. So I got scared and started another batch. I decided to try a full recipe but had to use mostly wheat flour.( I did add more gluten) The full recipe made about 7 rolls. I think you would only get 12 if you made dinner rolls/sliders. The funny thing is that both attempts came out fantastic!!! I thought I was going to have to freeze some... but nope.My 4 yr old ate 2 yesterday. I also made a sandwich for lunch yesterday with one and plan on doing that again today.I will be making these again and soon because they are almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is THE bun recipe I've been looking for!!! Perfect "Soft & Fluff". I will always make these !! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larrisb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made these using my stand mixer by proofing the yeast in the warm water with just 1 tbs. of sugar then adding the oil. I added the flour (1/2 AP, 1/2 WW) mixed with the vital wheat gluten and salt 1 cup at a time and used about 3 1/4 cups to get a lovely soft dough. I got 10 nice size rolls. This is a keeper thanks WFDM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I attempted to follow the recipe exactly, but my bread machine decided to slip a belt halfway through the knead cycle. I finished kneading by hand and let the dough rise in a greased, covered bowl for about an hour before following the rest of the directions. I did use an egg wash as I wanted to add sesame seeds to half the buns. These are exactly what they claim to be: Soft-N-Fluffy! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made these by the recipe, they came out perfectly. It made 16 buns. I make rolls all the time, and my family said these are the best I've ever made. So thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
First recipe I am reviewing! These were AWESOME! Light and fluffy as they claim to be. I rolled out the dough and used a peanut butter jar lid to cut them out at about 3/4 inch thickness. PERFECT! Got 12 buns out if it. Tried to roll as directed but just couldn't make them look good- need more practice I think! LOL Will make these again. I did not use all the sugar but only used 1 tablespoon. Going to make for Memorial Day cookout now I had a trial run of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by short order cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
03/16 AWESOME! they really live up to their name! I am eating one right now with strawberry jam. I used whole milk for water and brushed the rolls with butter when removed from the oven. Delicious! 03/22 I made the buns again today, used 1/2 ww and 1/2 ap flour, 1 tbsp vital gluten, my husband said these were even better! use 3 oz balls by weight for buns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great recipe the only change I would make is to cut down the amount of sugar. Rolls had a sweet taste which I don't really want on my hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Editor's Note: The sugar ingredient in this recipe was edited and now correctly reads 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States